Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was good with the following changes: I added one whole cup of coconut milk, doubled the curry, added 1/2 tsp of ground ginger (will add fresh ginger next time) 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp cumin seeds and topped with green onion, chives and a sprinkle of paprika. Had a good mild spice to it. I will make again and NOT use the corn starch and water mixture - made it too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Yummy! I just recently got into "ethnic" dishes, and I really am enjoying this dish. I didn't change anything, except doubled it. I think this is am impressive dish for a date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Very good! I served it on red rice with sweet potatoes on the side for a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Up all the spices! Good base but the taste is lack luster! Good idea on upping the coconut milk. i have had better curries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
i tried this tonight and i simply adore it, i did add fresh sliced mushrooms and i am glad i did, it did add to the flavour, (if i want a bit, just a bit more zap in the spice which spice should i increase? the red chili peppers or what do the readers suggest?) i love this, my husband raved over this recipe, it will be added to my *****five star favorites, thank YOU !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. I followed it exactly and there was not nearly enough sauce and what little sauce there was was very thick. I ended up adding more coconut milk to compensate and that helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Easy to make but not very flavorful. I think that I should have used a red curry paste like another one of the reviewers said they used because it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This recipe made a great curry! I think it is important to note that I did use a red curry paste, which included a variety of other ingredients (like salt), instead of using curry powder; this dish, followed exactly to the recipe's instructions, might not be as good as what I tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
The sauce is great and would probably be good with chicken too. I usually add a little extra coconut milk and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollycurls77
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a 5 star recipe with similar changes to another reviewer. I made a paste out of the onions, red pepper, garlic, ginger and oil, sauteed the paste, added the spices and a TBSP of flour and cooked for a few more minutes stirring to blend. Added the coconut milk and simmered it until slightly thickened and added a bit of salt for flavour. Added the shrimp and the cilantro, removed from heat once the shrimp was cooked through and served it with brown rice linquine. Absolutely superb!! My hubby was a happy man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States