Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is soooo good! Cures a curry craving. I made the changes suggested earlier about adding extra coconut milk and added some grated coconut to the finished product. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Bartell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Webigail
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is very good. I had a pound and a half of shrimp and doubled the recipe adding imitation lobster meat to make up for the half pound shrimp i was missing. I didn't quite follow the recipe and made it in a Wok instead of skillet, but it came out great. I did however substitute flour for cornstarch, i wish i hadn't, the sauce was delicious before the addition of flour. Next time i'll use the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was simple, yet I thought lack in flavor. I expected a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I decided to follow the Aglika's custom version from Nov. 6, 2004, basically because there was more spices and coconut milk, which gives the rice a nice sauce. It has the same ingredients but in varied amounts. We couldn't get enough! Thanks for the recipe and the variations. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Yummy! I made 2 versions, one with shrimp, the other with chicken, both were very tasty. I ended up increasing the coconut milk while I was cooking it. I used a hot curry powder which gave the flavor a boost. I will add a little salt next time. Definately a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Made this last night it was delicious! My BF doesn't even like coconut and had thirds! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I followed aglika's suggestions, and it was delish! One thing: instead of coconut milk, I used creamed (solid) coconut and melted it into milk. This way I could make it as thick as I wanted (by adding more coconut) without using flour or cornstarch. works perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was good....enjoyed very much but I thought it needed more flavour. It was somewhat bland on my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made exactly as directed the first time. Was very good, no complaints. Second time I made it I didn't have shrimp so I used chicken. Didn't have red pepper either. But I added some tomato paste and was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
First, I will point out that this recipe is bang on to a recipe in the 2nd cookbook of Janet & Greta Podleski (Crazy Plates - 1999 - recipe is called On Golden Prawns). I have all 3 of their cookbooks, which are fabulous! Literally, the only change is that this recipe on AR calls for only 1/2 cup of coconut milk, while theirs calls for a cup, but many reviewers feel it needs a full cup, and I agree!! All that said, this is a very good recipe with great flavour and easy to throw together! I left out the cilantro at the end as we dislike it and I used more than 1/4 tsp of the pepper flakes. I personally found the cornstarch (I didn't use the full tablespoon) was required to thicken this somewhat, although depending on how 'saucy' you want the liquid, you may or may not want to use - some people did and some did not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States