Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I decided to follow the Aglika's custom version from Nov. 6, 2004, basically because there was more spices and coconut milk, which gives the rice a nice sauce. It has the same ingredients but in varied amounts. We couldn't get enough! Thanks for the recipe and the variations. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Yummy! I made 2 versions, one with shrimp, the other with chicken, both were very tasty. I ended up increasing the coconut milk while I was cooking it. I used a hot curry powder which gave the flavor a boost. I will add a little salt next time. Definately a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Made this last night it was delicious! My BF doesn't even like coconut and had thirds! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I followed aglika's suggestions, and it was delish! One thing: instead of coconut milk, I used creamed (solid) coconut and melted it into milk. This way I could make it as thick as I wanted (by adding more coconut) without using flour or cornstarch. works perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was good....enjoyed very much but I thought it needed more flavour. It was somewhat bland on my tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made exactly as directed the first time. Was very good, no complaints. Second time I made it I didn't have shrimp so I used chicken. Didn't have red pepper either. But I added some tomato paste and was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
First, I will point out that this recipe is bang on to a recipe in the 2nd cookbook of Janet & Greta Podleski (Crazy Plates - 1999 - recipe is called On Golden Prawns). I have all 3 of their cookbooks, which are fabulous! Literally, the only change is that this recipe on AR calls for only 1/2 cup of coconut milk, while theirs calls for a cup, but many reviewers feel it needs a full cup, and I agree!! All that said, this is a very good recipe with great flavour and easy to throw together! I left out the cilantro at the end as we dislike it and I used more than 1/4 tsp of the pepper flakes. I personally found the cornstarch (I didn't use the full tablespoon) was required to thicken this somewhat, although depending on how 'saucy' you want the liquid, you may or may not want to use - some people did and some did not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very very good, this will be one of our favorites. I used jasmine rice because it is more fragrant and really complimented the other flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellemmar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This could have been 4 stars perhaps had I not added the corn starch and added something to make the shrimp spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This recipe was good, although I changed a few things about it. I did the recipe just as it was, and it was a little tasteless. I added some chicken bouillon, and red thai curry paste as well. I also added a squeeze of lemon. I will keep the recipe and also add the extra ingredients as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalialo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States