Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by tcurti
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Not to bad,,,, i forgot the sugar which i think would be a nice touch. I like spicy food so i added a 1/2 jalapeno pepper and served it over Pad Thai noodles. I'll make this again..... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Me quedaron excelente los camarones. La receta es de fácil preparación e ideal para impresionar a tus invitados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Víctor H. Herdoíza Á.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I followed the advice of the first reviewer about making a paste in the blender and it worked really well. Unfortunately, the flavors were a little bland. I was surprised to see no salt in the original recipe (although I added some on my own accord). My bf and I couldn't put my finger on what was missing. I would recommend as others have maybe some ginger, lime, lemongrass, or something to cut through or balance out the coconut creaminess and the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
We didn't like this...we found it to be bland. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love thai food, and I was excited to try this recipe, I followed all of 'aglika's recommendations exactly as stated and was thinking it's going to yield a great result, this tasted nothing like I've had at good thai restaurants, I didn't enjoy it, I can't even explain why the sauce tasted off, but the combination of the flavours just didn't taste right. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
4 or 5 stars, couldn't decide. I used modifications that first reviewer suggested with a couple additions like tumeric and garam masala. I used 2 Tbl of ginger that comes in the tube and omitted the sugar, because it has sugar in it. I will definitely make this again. garnishijavascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')ng with lime next time to see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I followed aglika's modifications, but needed to add more sugar, salt and pepper, a pinch of coriander, a few shakes of garam masala, more cumin, and -most importantly- a few squirts of lime to finish it off just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Will make again followed "aglika's" advice but may just try it as is next time too. THE RESULT WAS HARDLY ENOUGH FOR 2 CURRY LOVERS!!! YUM, YUM, YUM! THANK YOU DAKOTA and all the reviewers! I also plan on making this with chicken and I will try peanuts instead of shredded coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Warning - if you're not a fan of either coconut or cilantro, pass this recipe by! Hubs fits into this category and rates this two stars! If these aren't your issues, however, read on. This was a beautiful dish in terms of both presentation and flavor. Seasoned just right in my judgment, so that no, one, spice dominates. Quick and easy to prepare, this recipe really delivers. I enjoyed it a lot! (Again, Hubs not so much) I served this over jasmine rice with steamed baby bok choy and yellow patty pan squash. A treat for both the eyes and the palate. Oh - and I didn't find it necessary to add any cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used a whole can of coconut milk for a bit more sauce. I didn't really measure the ingredients but added by eye. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States