Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Excellent! I used 2 cups of coconut milk and doubled the spices, also added shredded coconut at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
not crunchy; coconut milk is light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Petrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Overall very tasty! My husband referred to it as "suburban curry." Agree with previous reviews. I would triple the light coconut milk and double everything else. The additions of brown rice, coconut flakes and raisins on top were also a nice addition. Next time I will add carrots and diced potatoes. Cornstarch not necessary. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Easy and Fabulous!! This tasted great with pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA
Photo by kootenaychef
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made this tonight and we loved it! I modified it to match aglika's review plus served it over basmati rice that I cooked with 1/2 light coconut milk and 1/2 water - then added toasted slivered almonds and coconut. So this is what I did...I mixed in my Vita Mix: 1/4 c canola oil, 1 medium onion, 1 red bell pepper and 5 cloves of garlic to create a paste. I then sauteed it for 4 min, lowered the heat to simmer and added 2 tsp minced ginger, 2 tbsp curry powder, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp sugar, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, mixing energetically for 2 min. I then gradually added 2 c of coconut milk all the while mixing energetically until the sauce thickened and became uniform. I simmered the sauce for 4 min, then increased the heat to medium-high again, added the shrimp and pre-cooked chunks of chicken, mixed well to coat and cooked for 4-5 min. Finally I added 1/2 c chopped fresh cilantro. I mixed one last time and turned off the heat. I served this with toppings options of toasted coconut, fresh coconut, and peanuts. YUM, YUM, YUM! Thank you Dakota and aglika and all the reviewers! This was quick and easy and will definitely be a favorite I will be serving to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
As is, this recipe is a 3 star recipe. I realized this as I was cooking it, and ended up using an entire can of coconut milk because we like a lot of sauce for our rice. I didn't use light coconut milk, so the sauce was thick enough and didn't need cornstarch. However, since I made extra sauce, it definitely needed extra spices. Next time, I'll add much more garlic and this recipe needs salt. I'll definitely make this again, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Quick, easy and tastes good. I added a 3/4 cup of coconut milk instead of the 1/2 cup, and 1/2 tsp more of curry. I left out the cornstarch and water, sauce was thick enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
It's a bit bland if you make it using only the ingredients listed. I added finely chopped fresh ginger, a dash of cinnamon, sea salt and freshly ground pepper and that helped make it more flavourful. I also used more coconut milk than the recipe called for. I wouldn't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Honestly, I am usually a good cook and follow recipes well (but I usually add my own ingredients when needed). But for whatever reason this recipe did not work out for me at all. I was very disappointed because everyone's reviews were so great and I have no idea what I did wrong. I had all the ingredients but I did not have the cornstarch, but I don't think that is what was missing. The taste was very bland, so my husband and I were trying to add more spices to it- and it just did not help at all. I could not even finish this dish it was so tasteless. I would like to make it again to see what I did wrong- because it smelled delicious- it just needed a kick. I may be wrong, but I am thinking that if you add a little ginger and lime it may help bring out some more flavor? Or chili peppers? I will read through the reviews again and add what people suggested next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcurti
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Not to bad,,,, i forgot the sugar which i think would be a nice touch. I like spicy food so i added a 1/2 jalapeno pepper and served it over Pad Thai noodles. I'll make this again..... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States