Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out alright. Omitted the cilantro (don't like) and the cornstarch - we felt the sauce was thick enough. Bumped up some of the spices, but the recipe still felt a little bland/one dimensional. It tasted a little better the next day but not enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
after making it the first time i realized it needed more flavor doubled all the spices and added tumeric, and didnt need to add the corn starch,. I also got creative and added alfredo sauce ommiting the coconut milk and sugar. I know it changes the whole recipe but it turned out great. this recipe would get 5 stars if you increase the spices especially the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Delicious taste. I should have doubled the mixture though, or served it with some vegetable dishes. In my opinion, it didn't make nearly enough for four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Needs more sugar, more heat, and some salt. I added fresh pineapple and used regular coconut milk. Calories from cornstarch or coconut milk....hmm, prefer coconut. I used I cup of coconut milk, 1/2 low fat and 1/2 regular. I added fresh ginger and fresh basil. Also, I prefer veggies crisp, so I cooked veggies with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Excellent with some minor revisions: I used 3 well seeded jalapenos instead of bell pepper. Still did the crushed pepper flakes and it was not hot - just a mild spice. Did not thicken the sauce, not necessary, it thickens enough if you just let it sit 5 min before serving. Used 2 cups light coconut milk, and for oil used 1/4 c ev coconut oil. Also added 3 sliced stalks celery and small can of bamboo (both excellent with it). Did fresh basil instead of cilantro - gave it an absolutely delicious Thai flare (don't used dried basil, only fresh, they're completely different flavors). Fry the shrimp first, set them aside and do the veggies with the sauce (celery will cook fast, nice to leave some crunch to it too). Add the shredded coconut, basil and shrimp to serve. SOOO good. The tsp sugar (and a pinch salt if you wish - salt increases detection of sweetness on tongue) are really crucial, it is not the same without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Lovely! I used roasted red peppers from a jar since that is what I had and followed the advice of others and doubled the sauce and cooked the rice in coconut milk. Next time I think I will try just a bit more red pepper flakes to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This recipe was easy to make. The coconut/curry flavour is wonderful. I doubled the recipe to make enough for a family of 4. I also found salt helped bring out the flavors. I will make this recipe the next time I'm in the mood for Thai food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was ok. It needs more BAM! It didn't taste *bad* it just didn't wow us. I left out the red pepper simply because I was all out. I didn't need the cornstarch as the mixture was already thick (fine by me; I don't like adding it if I don't need it). Needs more *something* ... more curry, more coconut, some salt...something. I'll work with it and tweak it, though. It's a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
It was good, tad too sweet for me. Next time i won't add so much sugar. I didn't use any cornstarch, I read the reviews and everyone was saying the cornstarch wasn't needed, so therefore I didn't use it. My husband didn't like it, he said it was too sweet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crissyEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Came out delish but I followed the recipe losely. Added eggplant and I did not have peppers. Also, i added a lot of extra coconut milk (a whole can) as we like a lot of sauce. Adjusted spices accordingly. Also added tumeric. Overall, great dish! Will definitely repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States