Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I loved this, and my finicky teen-age boys even scraped their plates. (Can't get much better endorsement than that!) I didn't have red pepper, so I used a green pepper I had. Also, served with cups of peanuts and coconut at the table, as offered with Indian fare. Will definitely make again. I tried using one reviewer's suggestion to make a roux at the beginning using flour and butter, but that didn't work out well for me. It was too thick, and then I was adding more coconut milk to try to thin it out again. I think if served over rice, the coconut curry sauce is just the right consistency -- without flour or cornstarch imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wow, was this ever good! Hard to believe that it's light (but you have to use the light coconut milk). To lighten it up further, I used olive oil spray rather than the oil; didn't miss it at all. A double bonus was how quick it was to put together. Some of the other reviewers said it needed a bit more heat (plus I like heat), so I added about a teaspoon of red curry paste to the vegetables and spices while they were sauteeing. I also added about a 1/4 teaspoon of salt, which really made the flavors pop (amazing what a little bit of salt does for that) and perhaps a tablespoon of minced fresh ginger. What it didn't need was the cornstarch, as mine thickened beautifully all on its own. I used jumbo shrimp (13-15 count) and served it over brown and red rice with wheat berries with roasted broccoli and onion wedges on the side, with a salad dressed with 1 tablespoon of marmalade (melted) with a splash of rice wine vinegar, to which I added a tad bit of chopped mint and freshly ground pepper; very fresh. Guess what...having it all again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This had wonderful flavor. It would be great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
We enjoyed this dish!.. I doubled the curry because I love curry and the coconut milk; I used 1/4 tsp of cayenne instead of the red pepper flakes. Other than that I followed the recipe and added just a squirt of lime juice at the end with salt and pepper. Pretty good but I have other favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I followed most of the modifications - generally I found it bland, even when I increased the spices, and let it reduce to increase concentration of flavour. Bland in comparison to curries and similar dishes I've made myself before. So if you don't really like hugely spiced curries this may be for you (spiced as in spices, not as in heat). But I was generally disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was a delicious recipe. I stuck with the recipe, substituting only light coconut milk for the regular variety (save a couple of calories) and omitted the red pepper because I didn't have it on hand. I added a little cornstarch at the end, but I think I would leave this out next time - it was actually a little too thick. BONUS SIDE DISH: I made a middle eastern coconut rice on the side (cooked the rice in half light coconut milk and water), then after cooking, added toasted coconut (toasted in a pan with a little olive oil), toasted almond and toasted raisins, all mixed through the rice (do all the toasting separately). With the curry-coconut shrimp, it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahncmount
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I followed aglika's suggestions to a tee and it turned out WONDERFUL!! She suggested putting coconut in at the end, but i found the flakes a tad fibrous and tough in such a creamy sauce. I will not put 3/4 cup of coconut in next time, maybe more like 1/4 cup if at all. The consistency was wonderfully creamy and the spices were spot-on. If you are looking for a different and taste-tingling way to cook shrimp, give this recipe a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahncmount

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brevard, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This dish was delicious. Like others, I made some modifications- chicken bullion, fresh minced ginger, and I omitted the coriander since I didn't have any on hand. Since I like sauce, I used the whole can of coconut milk. I served it over wild basmati rice. It was yuuuuuummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kshi86
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kshi86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Excellent recipe. Delicious! Made no adjustments. Very simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States