Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
We enjoyed this dish!.. I doubled the curry because I love curry and the coconut milk; I used 1/4 tsp of cayenne instead of the red pepper flakes. Other than that I followed the recipe and added just a squirt of lime juice at the end with salt and pepper. Pretty good but I have other favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I followed most of the modifications - generally I found it bland, even when I increased the spices, and let it reduce to increase concentration of flavour. Bland in comparison to curries and similar dishes I've made myself before. So if you don't really like hugely spiced curries this may be for you (spiced as in spices, not as in heat). But I was generally disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was a delicious recipe. I stuck with the recipe, substituting only light coconut milk for the regular variety (save a couple of calories) and omitted the red pepper because I didn't have it on hand. I added a little cornstarch at the end, but I think I would leave this out next time - it was actually a little too thick. BONUS SIDE DISH: I made a middle eastern coconut rice on the side (cooked the rice in half light coconut milk and water), then after cooking, added toasted coconut (toasted in a pan with a little olive oil), toasted almond and toasted raisins, all mixed through the rice (do all the toasting separately). With the curry-coconut shrimp, it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahncmount
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I followed aglika's suggestions to a tee and it turned out WONDERFUL!! She suggested putting coconut in at the end, but i found the flakes a tad fibrous and tough in such a creamy sauce. I will not put 3/4 cup of coconut in next time, maybe more like 1/4 cup if at all. The consistency was wonderfully creamy and the spices were spot-on. If you are looking for a different and taste-tingling way to cook shrimp, give this recipe a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahncmount

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brevard, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This dish was delicious. Like others, I made some modifications- chicken bullion, fresh minced ginger, and I omitted the coriander since I didn't have any on hand. Since I like sauce, I used the whole can of coconut milk. I served it over wild basmati rice. It was yuuuuuummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kshi86
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kshi86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Excellent recipe. Delicious! Made no adjustments. Very simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was delicious and I didn't make a single change to the recipe. Next time I will make it a little spicier though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgrether

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
this was very good..I didn't need the cornstarch mixture at the end as there was no extra sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Wow! This was great! Much better than the recipe I had been using. I added more curry & red bell pepper. I didn't use the cornstarch or flour to thicken the sauce, but next time I will as I want to use a little more coconut milk. I will surely be making this again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States