Curry Carrot-Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! We're on a strict anti-inflammatory diet, so I substituted a sweet potato for the regular white potato. Instead of curry powder (which has paprika - an inflammatory spice), I used a nearly equal blend of tumeric, black pepper, salt, garlic powder, ground cloves, nutmeg, and cinnamon. It's heavenly and even our sweet potato hater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious! And fairly easy to make, especially if you use a food processor. I used veggie broth instead of chicken, and several fingerling potatoes (with skin on). Other than that, I followed recipe exact and it was quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Loved this easy to make soup! Doubled the curry and added some cayenne for a bit of spice. The immersion blender made for an effortless purée. Thanks Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. The hardest part is chopping veggies. Also, it's easy to adapt if you are missing ingredients. I didn't have a potato, so mushed garbanzo beans worked well as a substitute. And, I used 2 ckn bullion cubes and 4 c water in place of ckn stock. Still tasted delicious. Good for a family meal or to impress guests as a starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Very good! I followed recipe and added garlic to sauté, doubled the curry, added freshly zested ginger prior to using my immersion blender and then served with a sprinkle of dill on top. Even my boys (8&9) loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharingMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a good soup. Very similar in taste to the Curried Pear & Butternut Squash Soup on this site. My boyfriend was expecting this to be so horrible because he doesn't like carrots, but he said it turned out ok. I imagine you could get a similar taste with onions if you didn't have leeks. We modified the recipe a bit by putting in 2T minced garlic, 1/2t ginger paste and 2t of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Perfect anytime!!! People got crazy when I told 'em how easy it was and now they want it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysKaKa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
More complexity? My tweaking: Same ingredients as recipe, except as follows: Use butter, not margarine, unless vegan. Add 1/2 red pepper to saute. Do NOT peel potatoes, but use thin skinned ones (they will be pureed anyway; why throw away nutrients?). Change 1/2 t curry to: 1 T curry (or more to taste), 1 1/2 t (or 1/2 T) garam masala, 1/4 t Indian red chili powder (cayenne is usable, but NOT Mexican). Be prepared to add liquid promptly after adding spices. You want spices to be opened by heat on bottom of pan, not burned. Reduce liquid to 2 cans of vegetable broth, plus 1 can water. Note: Dish can be prepared to this point and finished later. After vegetables are softened by broth and water, add 1 can coconut milk and bring back up to temperature. Wait until shortly before pureeing to add coconut milk. (Shake can well.) I find that this soup is best served warm, not hot. Also easier to transfer to and from blender if not too hot. Obviously calories go up with coconut milk, but with added spices and coconut milk there is a more complex SE Asian flavor. Layers, folks, keep thinking layers. P.S. The sweet potato idea is a good one! And they cook in water faster than some white potatoes. Sweet potatoes: An under-utilized addition to soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Great soup. I hate it when people change the recipes.... but it had to be done after I tasted the soup. I almost tripled the curry. used sweet potato. added a few garlic cloves when cooking the leeks and carrots. and added much more salt and ginger. The soup was delish with a little tweaking. But I love strong soups. If you love a strong, full soup, then tweak, baby, tweak. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I didn't puree it and left it as a chunky soup. It was delicious!. I also used a half pound of carrots, only 2 leeks and 2 chicken bouillon cubes with 4 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron G.
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States