Curry Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe and have made it several times. Here are the adjustments I make. I reduce the onion, dried fruit, sunflower seeds and bacon by half. It's way too much for the amount of broccoli and goes to waste. I substitute dried cranberries and raisins (1/2 of each) when I don't have cherries on hand and it's just as good. I have made this salad up to 6 hours before a party and it has "marinated" long enough. It's the first salad to go at a party and I have had several people ask for the recipe. It also is great when having company as it can be made ahead so you can spend more time with your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This is always a hit. I make it for every party I have or go to. I usually substitute 2 cups of cooked pasta (any kind even tortellini) for the broccoli. I sometimes put the bacon on the side so my vegetarian friends can enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
This is a nice twist on the usual Broccoli salad. It was great for a luncheon I had for some friends. I received lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
took this to a luncheon and it got great reveiws..I used dried cranberries instead of cherries..I think you could experiment with different fruit..raisins..pineapple etc I also used more curry than suggested..great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
The taste was good, I always like the curry/mayo type dressings, but the broccoli and sunflower seeds weren't crisp. I might make it again, but not let it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Loved it!! Even my anti-mayo BF loved it! Like others, subbed craisins; left out the bacon too. I'd like to try cashews - either in addition to sunflower seeds or as a replacement. I want more crunch. I couldn't taste the curry so I might also kick that up a bit. Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Beautiful recipe. I used broccoli AND cauliflower florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
A great addition to the "old standby's" at our Memorial Day barbecue. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I love broccoli so I really enjoyed this salad. I tweaked it base on what I had available. I used lowfat yogurt instead of mayo, I didn't have any raisins so I peeled and chop an apple, shredded a carrot and used dry roasted peanuts. Spiced it up with a little more curry, cayenne pepper and let it sit for a couple of hours. Great salad, pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I like broccoli salad and I like curry, so how could I not like this recipe? I did use dried cranberries instead of cherries and slivered almonds instead of sunflower seeds. Also added orzo pasta so made a double amount of dressing. Using pre-cooked real bacon pieces made this even easier to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States