Curry Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This salad is awesome. I did make a few changes because of what I had on hand but I can tell it's the dressing that makes it great. Had no bacon so omitted that. Had no cherries so used dried cranberries. Didn't have just sunflower seeds so I used trail mix consisting of various nuts, seeds and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this salad on our annual "womens houseboat trip"......what a hit! Made it in the morning and then had all day to enjoy the sun with the girls. It didn't need overnight to marinate. This salad rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trail, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I like broccoli salad and I like curry, so how could I not like this recipe? I did use dried cranberries instead of cherries and slivered almonds instead of sunflower seeds. Also added orzo pasta so made a double amount of dressing. Using pre-cooked real bacon pieces made this even easier to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I've never made a broccoli salad before and prepared it for a Mother's Day picnic- it was a hit! The only suggestion I heard (keeping in mind the audience of women who aren't big fans of spicy food) was to use half the amount of hot sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I love broccoli so I really enjoyed this salad. I tweaked it base on what I had available. I used lowfat yogurt instead of mayo, I didn't have any raisins so I peeled and chop an apple, shredded a carrot and used dry roasted peanuts. Spiced it up with a little more curry, cayenne pepper and let it sit for a couple of hours. Great salad, pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
We love this recipe. Instead of plain sugar, I use brown sugar because it seems to have more depth in flavor. I had to use golden raisins one time and another time I used currants because both times I didn't have dried cherries and the recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was excellent! I halved the recipe and the dressing was not quite enough, so I made some extra. Next time I'll try another reviewer's suggestion and add a couple cups of cooked pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe and have made it several times. Here are the adjustments I make. I reduce the onion, dried fruit, sunflower seeds and bacon by half. It's way too much for the amount of broccoli and goes to waste. I substitute dried cranberries and raisins (1/2 of each) when I don't have cherries on hand and it's just as good. I have made this salad up to 6 hours before a party and it has "marinated" long enough. It's the first salad to go at a party and I have had several people ask for the recipe. It also is great when having company as it can be made ahead so you can spend more time with your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
The taste was good, I always like the curry/mayo type dressings, but the broccoli and sunflower seeds weren't crisp. I might make it again, but not let it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Beautiful recipe. I used broccoli AND cauliflower florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Murray Bridge, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States