Curry Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I couldn't give this a bad rating because I changed too much about it, but I think it's an excellent base recipe for that classic cold broccoli salad. I used half broccoli & half cauliflower, omitted the bacon & onions on preference, reduced the craisins, and used plain greek yogurt instead of mayo. It was a very healthy version of this and I thought it was delicious. I do plan on making again and I'd add more curry powder when making again to balance the sweetness. Don't be afraid to try some of my substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This recipe is great! I often substitute Cherry Craisins, but have also used Dries Apricots mixed with dried apples. I use 1.5 the amount of dressing to make it more creamy. I have also had to substitute red curry powder and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Excellent! I left out the bacon and still got rave reviews. We love curry so I doubled the amount and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious twist on an old standard. I used chopped almonds instead of the sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I love broccolli salad .. but not this version with curry powder. The dressing was good, but it just didn't fit with broccolli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
EXcellent salald. Served with port tenderloin roast and rice medely, it made a tasty accompaniment to a delicious dinner. Used pine nuts instead of sunflower seeds and substitted craisins for dried cherries. Used two tsps of curry as I love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Super recipe. I have made this with broccoli or shaved cauliflower and both are equally excellent. Since I don't measure when I cook, my proportions may differ from the recipe. However, these flavors are terrific together. I use (oscar meyer) turkey bacon and saute the onion with the bacon. Then I deglaze the saute pan with a little water and add this small amount of liquid to the dressing mixture. Also I really like a few finely diced raw green onions, especially when making this with cauliflower, since it adds some green color. As for the fruit and nuts, I have found that craisins, dried cherries or dried mixed fruits work great; and sunflower seeds, slivered almonds or chopped pecans are equally good. Thank you, Harriet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Made as stated - but left out onion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
this salad is fantastic. every gathering I go to I am begged by the hostess to please bring this salad. It tastes delicious made the same day but awesome the longer it marinates. my only change to the recipe is I use Garam Masala instead of curry powder, only because I never have curry powder in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVEYLU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is a never fail, crowd pleaser...I substituted ham for bacon and added some cooked ravioli and it makes a nice twist! this is a brilliant recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States