Curry Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Great! Excellent basic recipe base that can be played with liberally. I substituted a prepackaged black bean soup (Trader Joe's) for half of the beef broth and the results got rave reviews here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I needed more so increased recipe by 1.5 X. I also added 1/2 cup barley,doubled patatoes and cut the beef cubes into 3/4 inch cubes. I used the slow cooker once beef was browned for about 3 hours low heat. It got better with more time. This was "FANTASTIC" if you like curry and both my kids( 14 & 16) and even my wife want it again. This recipe got me huge bonus points as a good cook from the kids....one up on the misses. if you like curry you will love this recipe! warning dont cook it in a sweater as the curry lasts for days everywhere I went hahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I really took the reveiwers comments to heart. I cooked in a crockpot instead of a pot. I used curry paste instead of powder, its what I had. I subbed sweet potatoes rather than white potatoes. I also thickened it with cornstarch and served it over rice. It was good but not great. I will make it again, but will probablly add spinach at the end for color and might add cashews as well for crunch. But a good base will use this recipie again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is now my favorite soup ever! I make fresh French bread to dip in it and it is AMAZING! I cook it for about an hour and then add potatoes and carrots for the last 30 minutes. Absolutly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Really good I did add some flour to thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightDragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Loved this soup! So tasty - great on a cold day! I didn't use bay leaves and I used sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes and it tasted incredible. Prepared it in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Yummy! I followed the recipe except, like others, I added some cornstarch to thicken it and I also added some veggies (carrots and celery). I accidentally let it simmer too long so a lot of the liquid evaporated but it was still delicious! This is a recipe that can be easily adapted to each persons taste depending how strong you like it or what veggies you want in it. Would porbably be good with chicken or pork instead of the beef too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe was easy to follow, used simple ingredients, and tasted delicious! I added half a bag of frozen California Blend vegetables(carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower) about ten minutes after I added the potatoes. I served it over a scoop of rice in a bowl. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is one of my favorite beef stews. That curry adds an exotic zing! I love the flavor and nutrient value of swapping out the white potatoes for all sweet potatoes or a mix of sweet potatoes and turnips (equals more nutrients and lower glycemic effect than white potatoes). As another reviewer suggested, I also like to add a thickner for that real stew quality. (Personally, I always prefer using white or even better, whole wheat pastry flour for my thickner to lower the glycemic effect - something even us non-diabetics benefit from health wise. Of course, whenever one uses wheat flour compared to cornstarch, you must take some liquid out, add it to the flour, and then add the mixture to the stew.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My family *loves* this recipe and it is so easy! I usually throw all of the ingredients in the crock pot and walk away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States