Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was bland. The texture was not great and the seasoning was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I made a few adjustments based on what I had, and I think it turned out great! I used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1, because I love it; my husband went and drank all the orange juice right before I went to make it, so I ended up using apple juice instead and I think it worked really well. I also didn't have wild rice, so I just used brown rice and I think it's pretty good. This is definitely a recipe I'll come back to and play around with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a great easy recipe. I added chicken to make it even more hearty for my husband. My toddler loved it as well. I've made it over and over for friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Wonderful tastey , healthy soup. I cut the orange juice to a dash. I added 2 jalapeno's, finely chopped to the onion/garlic mixture. I added a 1/8 of a cup of dry cooking sherry. I cut the salt down to a 1/2 teaspoon. Also added a handful of finely cut frsh parley to the onion/garlic mixture. It came out great. I will make this soup again.Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have made a ton of this already and absolutely love it. Very filling, works as a meal on it's own. I add extra hot curry powder to give it a bit more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is one of the best soup recipies I've ever made and I make alot of soup. I did add a dash of ceyanne peper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene Newcomb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I sort of made my own version of this soup, and it was if I might say, freaking awesome. Even my husband loved it and he's not a soup fan. Orange juice just didn't even sound good, so I left it out entirely. But the recipe still needs some acid, so I pureed 3 or 4 yellow tomatoes and a green apple in my blender and added that at the beginning. I also carmelized 2 red onions in butter and brown sugar and added those. The box of wild rice I just threw in, no need to cook it separately. I used six cups of chicken broth, an entire large squash which I steamed first and then pureed before adding to the soup, and a whole tablespoon of curry powder. It was just amazing--the flavor had so much depth, and oddly you couldn't taste curry--it just sort of blended in as if it belonged there. IMO you can't go wrong with curry, butternut, and wild rice!Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I did a few things different- I used a box of frozen squash, and I did not put it in a blender or food processor. I used only 1/4 c. of oj too. This was very good, even my 4 year old daughter had seconds! If you want it heartier, I bet chicken would be great in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The flavor of the orange juice overpowered the soup. Next time, I will omit the orange juice to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
really good. the second time I made it I threw in some (too much) ginger. I think it would good with a just a bit of it, though. :) We love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States