Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was bland. The texture was not great and the seasoning was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I made a few adjustments based on what I had, and I think it turned out great! I used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1, because I love it; my husband went and drank all the orange juice right before I went to make it, so I ended up using apple juice instead and I think it worked really well. I also didn't have wild rice, so I just used brown rice and I think it's pretty good. This is definitely a recipe I'll come back to and play around with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a great easy recipe. I added chicken to make it even more hearty for my husband. My toddler loved it as well. I've made it over and over for friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Wonderful tastey , healthy soup. I cut the orange juice to a dash. I added 2 jalapeno's, finely chopped to the onion/garlic mixture. I added a 1/8 of a cup of dry cooking sherry. I cut the salt down to a 1/2 teaspoon. Also added a handful of finely cut frsh parley to the onion/garlic mixture. It came out great. I will make this soup again.Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have made a ton of this already and absolutely love it. Very filling, works as a meal on it's own. I add extra hot curry powder to give it a bit more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is one of the best soup recipies I've ever made and I make alot of soup. I did add a dash of ceyanne peper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWNEWCOMB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I sort of made my own version of this soup, and it was if I might say, freaking awesome. Even my husband loved it and he's not a soup fan. Orange juice just didn't even sound good, so I left it out entirely. But the recipe still needs some acid, so I pureed 3 or 4 yellow tomatoes and a green apple in my blender and added that at the beginning. I also carmelized 2 red onions in butter and brown sugar and added those. The box of wild rice I just threw in, no need to cook it separately. I used six cups of chicken broth, an entire large squash which I steamed first and then pureed before adding to the soup, and a whole tablespoon of curry powder. It was just amazing--the flavor had so much depth, and oddly you couldn't taste curry--it just sort of blended in as if it belonged there. IMO you can't go wrong with curry, butternut, and wild rice!Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I did a few things different- I used a box of frozen squash, and I did not put it in a blender or food processor. I used only 1/4 c. of oj too. This was very good, even my 4 year old daughter had seconds! If you want it heartier, I bet chicken would be great in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The flavor of the orange juice overpowered the soup. Next time, I will omit the orange juice to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
really good. the second time I made it I threw in some (too much) ginger. I think it would good with a just a bit of it, though. :) We love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States