Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This soup is amazing! I microwaved the squash because I was too lazy to peel it. Added a bit of cinnamon, which plays with the curry quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
A wonderful soup...the only changes I made was to puree only half of squash and onions to add texture. I also added a can of chickpeas to add a little protein. I thought the orange juice would give it a funny taste, but it gave it the perfect amount of an acidity needed to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Delicious! We wanted more curry flavor so added some red curry paste to taste. This was a great way to use up some leftover squash and brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Delicious. I omitted orange juice (didn't have any) and used apple instead. Make enough for left-overs. My kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
really did not like the orange aftertaste, the entire recipe seemed to be missing something, and as delish as the curry smelled, it did't really make the soup. This is one in the "no" column for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Since I am making this soup in October here in Michigan, I substituted apple cider from the cider mill for the orange juice. I added a peeled apple to the onion and garlic (OK, I used two cloves of garlic). Rather than boiling the squash, I chose to cook it covered on low heat w/ the onion/garlic/apple until it was soft (about 45 minutes). I like soup w/ texture, so I reserved a portion of the veggies before pureeing the rest. I cooked the rice in the broth then added to the pot. The first time I made the soup, I tried cooking the rice in w/ the puree, and found that the rice remained too firm even after boiling for an hour, so cooking it in the broth is the way to go. I made this soup for some vegetarian friends using a vegetable stock for the chicken, and it was awesome. I really like this soup w/ cucumber slices - the cool crunch is a nice contrast. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
To save on dishes and extra steps, I made this delicious recipe using only one soup pot, one soup bowl, and the blender. You will appreciate this if you have no dishwasher :) Caramelize the onion with a little butter and brown sugar in a large soup pot. Add in crushed garlic when the onion is almost fully cooked. Remove cooked onions from pot and set aside to cool in a soup bowl. Boil the chicken stock in the same large pot, reduce heat and cook the squash until it is tender. Remove from heat. Use a masher to mash squash while it is still in the pot. Add orange juice curry and any other seasoning. Let all the ingredients cool off a bit. Combine the caramelized onion with the squash broth in blender and blend. Return to the large pot. Heat to a boil, add rice, reduce heat, and adjust seasoning. Once the rice is cooked the soup is complete. Tip: the more pale the squash is at the grocery store, the less ripe it is, so choose one with more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This soup is really tasty! I was skeptical about the orange juice, so I waited until the end and added it to a small bowl as a test. I was amazed by the tangy complexity it added. It may sound like a weird ingredient to put in soup, but it's definitely a good addition. I only had one, smallish, butternut squash, but I didn't adjust any of the other amounts in the recipe and it still turned out great. ****In later attempts I've waited too long to use the squash and it had gotten sweet. Beware sweet squash, the sweetness really didn't work well with the other flavors in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This soup was sooo yummy and healthy! My whole family enjoyed it. I roasted the squash instead of boining it. I also ommited the orange juice. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My family loved this! I was in the mood for a dish to serve over basmati rice, so I steamed the squash in some vegetable broth adding just enough liquid, then mashing it. I added cubed firm tofu and jalpeno to the onion mixture. I put it all together with coconut milk. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States