Curried Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Perfect. I didn't use chervil because it's not something I normally have and I didn't want to go to the store, but next time I might spring for it to see what it's like. This soup is far better than the ever-popular Creamy Chicken & Wild Rice Soup from this site - and just as easy, in my opinion. I added about 2 cups of cooked, diced chicken to this because I made it for someone who needs a lot of protien in her diet - but it's also wonderful as is. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
The flavor is marvelous. I substituted 1 1/2 cup of 1% milk and 1/2 cup half-and-half, and the soup still came out rich and creamy. There is no amount of water given for the wild rice; I followed the directions on the box. Instead of 20 min for the rice, my box said 50 so I let it cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This would be good with some chicken added to it. Next time I will do that and also cut back on the butter. I used a fat free half and half since it was what I had on hand. That may have given a slightly less creamy texture. Nothing is better in the fat free version! lol! Next time I will also cut the amount of curry in half and use chicken stock instead of vegetable. Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was not my favorite as written. The white pepper way over-powered the curry so I would cut back on the pepper by half and at least double the curry (which I already did anyway and still coudn't taste it). My daughter and I both thought this was ok, but for personal preferences, we would each like a combination of white and wild rice instead of all wild. And I totally disagree with a previous reviewer, the chicken and wild rice soup on this site still reigns supreme in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I added carrots and cabbage since I didn't have enough cabbage. Using whole wheat flour, i made the roux with the veggies using soy milk. It was strange to strongly smell the sherry, but taste the spicy herbs! It is a satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I did throw in some cooked chicken and used chicken broth rather than vegetable. My husband said he would have liked this better if it had been creamier. Thought the broth was a bit lite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Very good soup. Has a bit of a bite to it. I don't have half and half, so it was probably more soupy than creamy for me. (I used 1 cup of milk instead of 2 cups of half and half). However, still nice and flavorful. Bf liked it well enough but said something was missing. What, I don't know, bc he told me "you never make anything twice, so what do you care?" I guess I've been making too many different things. Oh, well. Onward, more AR recipes to try! If I do come back to this, maybe add some chicken and more veggies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Supurb! I incresed the porpotion of broth, and decreased the cream, and it was silky & delicious. Also used lemon juice instead of sherry and added shredded, cooked chicken. Perfect for the cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is Wild Rice Soup.I put some ham in it and it was the best. This is a regular every Sunday when the guys watch the Vikings. Now if there was only a recipe for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
DELICIOUS! I didn't have chervil (and couldn't find it on Safeway.com : ), but this was still wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States