Curried Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I wish there was a half star option, b/c I would give this 3 1/2. Although it wasnt nearly the best curry I've had, it improved by leaps and bounds after sitting overnight in the fridge. If I make it next time I will cook it a day ahead of time. I added onions, garlic and at the very end coconut milk. I double all the spice and probably tripled the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Excellent recipe, sugggest adding cauliflower, soaks up the juice,quartered onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
We had this tonight for dinner, taking the suggestion of adding califlower. I only had one jalapeno, and red potatos, but it was still very tasty and quick. I was worried that there was not going to be any sauce, but the eggplant and tomatos disolved and I only added 1/2 can of coconut milk at the very end along with some spinach. Very good, but not quite mind-blowing. Oh- I also peeled the eggplant, and soaked it with salt for 1/2 hour first, then rinsed it and used it, as it came from my boyfriend's mothers' garden and I was worried it was a little bitter. Yum- we will probably try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I really liked this recipe. i thought it needed a little more, however, and i added cauliflower, tofu, a little sugar and some coconut milk. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Quick and easy, without all of the complicated and hard to find Indian ingredients, but very tasty. I added garlic, onion, zucchini, chick peas and a pinch of cayenne pepper (left out the jalepenos). Can't imagine this one without garlic and onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I left out the jalepenos, but this curry was abolutely excellent! I served it with rice and used the leftovers for wraps the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Very tasty. Spicy, yet mild enough to taste a wide variety of flavors. Great wrapped in a tortilla for a fast in the car meal. Great served over simple white rice for a very filling, satisfying vegan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This was delicious, especially on the next day. I couldn't find jalapeno peppers or cilantro (i'm in England) so I used "bell" peppers and coriander instead. Next time I'll add onion, garlic and spinach. This is the first successful curry I'v ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it! just the right amount of spice. My daughter had it with Pad Thai noodles. Twas a great side along with The Indian-style shrimp with yogurt sauce on the Cooking Light web-site. Both recipes call for cilantro, but I suppose you could use parsley. Won't have as much kick. Try to leave "as is." You will miss the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was a really good and easy recipe. I added coconut milk as suggested by other reviewers but only about 1/6 of a can as to not make it a soupy consistency but it would be good like that too. I didn't have eggplant so added 1/2 a head of cabbage and 3 small zucchini. The combination of spices really works and I added about a teaspoon of garam masala. I will definitely make this again, you can throw just about anything in it- cauliflower, potatoes, chickpeas and green peas sounds like a good combination for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States