Curried Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I wish there was a half star option, b/c I would give this 3 1/2. Although it wasnt nearly the best curry I've had, it improved by leaps and bounds after sitting overnight in the fridge. If I make it next time I will cook it a day ahead of time. I added onions, garlic and at the very end coconut milk. I double all the spice and probably tripled the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Excellent recipe, sugggest adding cauliflower, soaks up the juice,quartered onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
We had this tonight for dinner, taking the suggestion of adding califlower. I only had one jalapeno, and red potatos, but it was still very tasty and quick. I was worried that there was not going to be any sauce, but the eggplant and tomatos disolved and I only added 1/2 can of coconut milk at the very end along with some spinach. Very good, but not quite mind-blowing. Oh- I also peeled the eggplant, and soaked it with salt for 1/2 hour first, then rinsed it and used it, as it came from my boyfriend's mothers' garden and I was worried it was a little bitter. Yum- we will probably try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I really liked this recipe. i thought it needed a little more, however, and i added cauliflower, tofu, a little sugar and some coconut milk. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Quick and easy, without all of the complicated and hard to find Indian ingredients, but very tasty. I added garlic, onion, zucchini, chick peas and a pinch of cayenne pepper (left out the jalepenos). Can't imagine this one without garlic and onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I left out the jalepenos, but this curry was abolutely excellent! I served it with rice and used the leftovers for wraps the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Very tasty. Spicy, yet mild enough to taste a wide variety of flavors. Great wrapped in a tortilla for a fast in the car meal. Great served over simple white rice for a very filling, satisfying vegan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This was delicious, especially on the next day. I couldn't find jalapeno peppers or cilantro (i'm in England) so I used "bell" peppers and coriander instead. Next time I'll add onion, garlic and spinach. This is the first successful curry I'v ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it! just the right amount of spice. My daughter had it with Pad Thai noodles. Twas a great side along with The Indian-style shrimp with yogurt sauce on the Cooking Light web-site. Both recipes call for cilantro, but I suppose you could use parsley. Won't have as much kick. Try to leave "as is." You will miss the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was a really good and easy recipe. I added coconut milk as suggested by other reviewers but only about 1/6 of a can as to not make it a soupy consistency but it would be good like that too. I didn't have eggplant so added 1/2 a head of cabbage and 3 small zucchini. The combination of spices really works and I added about a teaspoon of garam masala. I will definitely make this again, you can throw just about anything in it- cauliflower, potatoes, chickpeas and green peas sounds like a good combination for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States