Curried Tilapia with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Unless I did something wrong, I found this quite uninteresting. There didn't seem to be enough of the rub for the amount of fish on the recipe(each tilapia fillet weighs about 8 oz.). I added a little more oil to make it more spreadable, but I still thought it over- powered the sweetness of the fish. What did help, however, was adding a squeeze of lime at the end to balance it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is a very good recipe for tilapia when you're looking for something different. I agree that there was too much salt in the salsa. I used thawed frozen mangos to save time (they were already chopped) and left out the hot pepper (kids would not like). I also only put the curry mixture on one side of the fish before cooking, and that was plenty. I would definitely make this recipe again, it was very tasty and relatively easy to put together. I served it with saffron rice from this site; the rice was very good also and paired well with the fish. Substituting mint for the cilantro or in addition to sounds interesting...may try that next time! Thanks for the great recipe - taste buds super happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was really tasty. Served with rice and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FinnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This recipe was great...I added sweet corn to the mango salsa and topped it off with some rice, it was amazing..Will definetly try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vobrien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
The salsa is TOO SALTY!!!! It totally killed it. Anyone who knows their way around a kitchen, knows that once you add salt, it's a bit difficult to fix if it's too salty. Follow my advice - add half the salt, stir and taste and do it at the end of making the salsa. I added fresh mint to the salsa and the sweetness of this did help the taste.(But not enough, sorry. My kids who love mango rated this 2 1/2 *. I had two mangoes, lots of fish and doubled the recipe. I also dipped the fish in flour after rubbing with curry rub and this made a nice, curry, crunchy coating on the outside and the rub was worth 3 1/2*. Overall, I'd try the rub again, but the salsa was salt overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Interesting exotic flavors - yet easy to make and fast for a weeknight meal. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This is so incredibly healthy, and so delicious! The mango salsa tastes so fresh and is wonderful alongside the curried tilapia. I make this about once every two weeks and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Have used this recipe a few times and my husband loves the results. I have substituted the fresh mangoes for frozen ones which I thawed and have been using them since. I find the frozen ones sweeter than the fresh ones. Not the right season for the fresh mangoes here. We will definitely make this dish again. We did not make modifications to the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I gave it a four but I'm thinking it has something to do with the situation I was in and not the recipe. So, I made this wonderfully beautiful presentation of a dinner with all of the promise that the ingredients list gives you and then we had to wait almost 30 minutes to eat because the cable guy was here. By the time we ate it, the fish was lukewarm. I can't wait to make it again (sans the cable guy) and eat it at the peak of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Delicious just how it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States