Curried Tilapia with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
The salsa is TOO SALTY!!!! It totally killed it. Anyone who knows their way around a kitchen, knows that once you add salt, it's a bit difficult to fix if it's too salty. Follow my advice - add half the salt, stir and taste and do it at the end of making the salsa. I added fresh mint to the salsa and the sweetness of this did help the taste.(But not enough, sorry. My kids who love mango rated this 2 1/2 *. I had two mangoes, lots of fish and doubled the recipe. I also dipped the fish in flour after rubbing with curry rub and this made a nice, curry, crunchy coating on the outside and the rub was worth 3 1/2*. Overall, I'd try the rub again, but the salsa was salt overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Have used this recipe a few times and my husband loves the results. I have substituted the fresh mangoes for frozen ones which I thawed and have been using them since. I find the frozen ones sweeter than the fresh ones. Not the right season for the fresh mangoes here. We will definitely make this dish again. We did not make modifications to the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
OMG this recipe was awesome. My first time for making Tilapia - although I order it out quite a bit! So easy..and the flavors were great. I added some cucumber to the mango salsa....This will become one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I actually omitted the salt because I forgot it--good thing too, the salsa doesn't need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is a very tasty "healthy" choice for anyone trying to eat better foods. My entire family enjoyed the flavors including my 10 and 2 year old daughters. Just a note: if you are a food processer user, don't. The salsa is much prettier if it is hand chopped. Then, you can clearly see all the colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zerazenthra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I had never made or eaten tilapia before using this recipe, and I must say this is one of the best dishes I have ever eaten. I didn't use the whole chile just because it was very very spicy, but otherwise everything else was absolutely delicious. The mango definetly compliments the fish. Very easy and simple recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I gave it a four but I'm thinking it has something to do with the situation I was in and not the recipe. So, I made this wonderfully beautiful presentation of a dinner with all of the promise that the ingredients list gives you and then we had to wait almost 30 minutes to eat because the cable guy was here. By the time we ate it, the fish was lukewarm. I can't wait to make it again (sans the cable guy) and eat it at the peak of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious! We only made the curried tilapia (I didn't have a mango on hand but was looking for a new way of cooking tilapia). It was great - nice and spicy. I had no idea what garlic pepper was so looked up a recipe for it and made it myself. (Combine 1 TBS garlic powder, 1/2 TBS of pepper and 1 TBS of parsley) I loved how quick and easy the recipe was. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was wonderful! Just the rub alone was great. My mango wasnt as soft as Id like it to be so just make sure your mango is ripe enough. I was also worried about the serrano chile bec Ive never had one b4 and it wasnt that hot. I also didnt add the onion bec I dont like raw onions but this was soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
LOVED IT! The mango salsa was the best! I added half a red onion and it was so yummy! My 5 year old son wasn't too fond of the spices, BUT... he'll grow into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States