Curried Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
this is such a great soup! i made it with an indian flat bread and it was a perfect meal! i cooked up the squash with salt, pepper and olive oil and left out the cream sauce because im a vegan. i would like to try this again with a coconut cream sauce but it was great by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Wow, this was really yummy and flavorful. I think I may have added a bit more squash (I made this for ten servings) and next time, I might try yellow curry instead of the red I had on hand. I also added roasted pine nuts as a topping, which worked very well. This soup is very yummy and comforting in winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Simple & tasty. I used fat-free sour cream & omitted the whipping cream, so I'm sure the real version is even better. I also mixed the sour cream topping into the whole batch. Probably not as classy as the garnish, but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We LOVE this recipe. The curry makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Great recipe! Tried it with out topping since it is a thick/heavy soup, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very nice soup. I added fresh cilantro and a pinch of cumin. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is my favorite squash soup recipe so far. I didn't have enough broth (used vegetable broth) so I added a can of coconut milk, which turned out well. I think it would be great without it, though, maybe even better. Overall, my liquid was still a little low but I forgot to accordingly reduce the salt so it ended up a bit salty. I also added a little garam masala and black pepper to the spices - yum! Before roasting the squash, I brushed it with olive oil and sprinkled on salt, pepper, and a little curry powder. Because I had already made it creamy, I didn't make the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is a delightful soup, not too sweet, not too spicy. I have passed this recipe on to several friends, and they love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent flavor. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make it a vegetarian meal and organic vegetables. Very healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This soup was amazing. I seasoned the squash before putting it in the oven rubbing it with some pepper, thyme, and lavender salt. Then I added a can of light coconut milk to make it a little creamier. I didn't do the sour cream toppping, but this was one of the best squash soups that I have made even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States