Curried Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This soup was amazing. I seasoned the squash before putting it in the oven rubbing it with some pepper, thyme, and lavender salt. Then I added a can of light coconut milk to make it a little creamier. I didn't do the sour cream toppping, but this was one of the best squash soups that I have made even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Loved this simple soup. I sped the process up by doing the squash in the microwave instead of the oven and cut the oil in half. Don't think we missed a thing. And I added the squash pulp to the broth and used my immersion blender. Very easy but be sure to remove the bay leaf before you do. Served with just a dollop of fat free sour cream. This recipe is destined to be a fall favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
this is such a great soup! i made it with an indian flat bread and it was a perfect meal! i cooked up the squash with salt, pepper and olive oil and left out the cream sauce because im a vegan. i would like to try this again with a coconut cream sauce but it was great by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Great recipe! Tried it with out topping since it is a thick/heavy soup, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My husband and I made this soup for the first time about a month or so ago. Since that time I have made it 4 times with various different vegetable combinations. One with just plain butternut squash, one with squash and carrots and another with squash and sweet potato. All these combinations were fantastic! Would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Delicious. Don't overdo the spices like I did, thinking I like alot of spice.. it detracts from the nice squash flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I only cooked it for 20 minutes (where did 20 hours come from?) and it was great! Like most soups it improved by spending the night in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very nice soup. I added fresh cilantro and a pinch of cumin. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I love butternut squash and I had a few I needed to use up. This soup was a great way to use up all the squash I had. I did add a little more cayenne pepper than needed because of the abundance of squash I had and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Fabulous! We all had second helpings. Changes I made...more garlic, I used hot New Mexico Chili Pepper instead of cayenne because that's what I had, 3 cups of chicken broth and a 14oz can of coconut milk, instead of 5 cups of broth. I also added 3 little packettes of pickeled ginger (like you get with take out sushi). When I blended it all, I added the sour cream and 1/8 cup of chopped parsley and omitted the whipping cream topping. It was thick, creamy, and spicey, but the taste of the roasted squash came through beautifully. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States