Curried Squash, Garbanzo Bean, and Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Flavor was good, but it came out way drier than I expected. Had to use quite a bit of yogurt just for its liquidness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
We used acorn squash, frozen cauliflower and a different kind of potato. This is really good for a vegetable soup/stew. As with all curries, the food is better the second day. We decided to put this into breakfast burritos with scrambled eggs, sausage and cheddar cheese. Everyone loved them and we are looking forward to more leftover burritos tomorrow, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Holy , this made so much stew! When it says 8 servings, these are 8 big servings! If I were to make this again, I'd cut the recipe down. That aside, this was good but not great. I wish that the dish had a little more color to it--it's visually quite boring. It tasted just fine though. I would eat this again if I had to, but instead will look for a different curried squash recipe for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We loved it! A great way to use the squash from the garden. I like the heat, but I do recd lots of yogurt and a chocolate chip chaser. B-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalanamama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We loved this recipie! We cut the spices in half as other reviewers recommended, and also added 3/4 Cup of quinoa. I did not have garlic on hand or I also would have added it. Instead of adding cayenne I added a fresh de-seaded jalapeño. This did not come out spicy. My Husband does not like spicy food, I actually added more spices to my own dish. Worked out excellent every last morsel was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I substituted mushrooms for cauliflower, and added shrimp closer to the end. Also added a splash of milk and honey to cut down on the spicy (because spicy, it was!). Not sure it needed the shrimp, but the stew was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is a really delicious way to use up fresh farm produce. I cut back on the potatoes and added extra summer squash (because I had a lot). I also cut up a half of a fresh cayenne pepper instead of using the dried. The only change I would make is to decrease the amount of liquid a bit (by about a cup). By the time it thickened up nicely with that amount of liquid, the vegetables were a bit too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very bland, maybe my fault 'cause I left out the onion and cayenne (though I added garam masala instead). Not mushy, though - I mashed half the garbanzo beans and left the rest whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Shawn LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Thoroughly enjoyable, and extremely easy. I ate it over whole wheat couscous with a few raisins sprinkled on top. I'm curious to see what some coriander and cumin might do to the recipe for next time--it really is JUST curry. But it's a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States