Curried Squash, Garbanzo Bean, and Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
To counteract the "mushiness" complained of by a previous reviewer, I simmered the potatoes and cauliflower together for about 20 minutes. Then I added the squash and garbanzo beans and simmered for 10 minutes. This decreased the cooking time by almost half to prevent the veggies from becoming mushy. However, the stew was far too spicy, to the point hubby and I weren't able to eat more than a few bites. (If served over rice like an Indian entree, this amount of spice might be acceptable.) Also, the texture of the squash seemed incompatible with the other ingredients and didn't seem to belong. Recipe sounded delicious but needs some big adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I loved it! Based on other reviews, I cut the spices in half and it was perfect, but I don't like anything too spicy. I had fresh squash and just put it in with the potatoes. I also added some garlic to the onions because I like garlic :-) I also added 2/3 cup quinoa for added protein and nutrition. I'd say this is a new top favorite of mine, especially as I am trying to limit my meat consumption for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was a huge hit at a party I had in the fall, and when I asked my boyfriend what he wanted me to make for Valentine's Day dinner, this is what he requested! Don't make the potato pieces too small or they break up - I like to have the texture of the potatoes, so I'll remember to make them a little bigger next time. Also, start with a potato masher on the garbanzo beans - it will speed things up and then you can use a fork on the ones the masher didn't get. The stew is quite spicy but my crowd seems to like it that way - serving over rice would probably help if you don't like this much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Thoroughly enjoyable, and extremely easy. I ate it over whole wheat couscous with a few raisins sprinkled on top. I'm curious to see what some coriander and cumin might do to the recipe for next time--it really is JUST curry. But it's a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was REALLy good. Next time I think I will add some raisins and sliced almonds in the last step. Just to add a little sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is a really delicious way to use up fresh farm produce. I cut back on the potatoes and added extra summer squash (because I had a lot). I also cut up a half of a fresh cayenne pepper instead of using the dried. The only change I would make is to decrease the amount of liquid a bit (by about a cup). By the time it thickened up nicely with that amount of liquid, the vegetables were a bit too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I substituted mushrooms for cauliflower, and added shrimp closer to the end. Also added a splash of milk and honey to cut down on the spicy (because spicy, it was!). Not sure it needed the shrimp, but the stew was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Shawn LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We loved this recipie! We cut the spices in half as other reviewers recommended, and also added 3/4 Cup of quinoa. I did not have garlic on hand or I also would have added it. Instead of adding cayenne I added a fresh de-seaded jalapeño. This did not come out spicy. My Husband does not like spicy food, I actually added more spices to my own dish. Worked out excellent every last morsel was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very bland, maybe my fault 'cause I left out the onion and cayenne (though I added garam masala instead). Not mushy, though - I mashed half the garbanzo beans and left the rest whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States