Curried Squash, Garbanzo Bean, and Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Very flavorful and tasty but "mushy" - I added cooked chicken pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
To counteract the "mushiness" complained of by a previous reviewer, I simmered the potatoes and cauliflower together for about 20 minutes. Then I added the squash and garbanzo beans and simmered for 10 minutes. This decreased the cooking time by almost half to prevent the veggies from becoming mushy. However, the stew was far too spicy, to the point hubby and I weren't able to eat more than a few bites. (If served over rice like an Indian entree, this amount of spice might be acceptable.) Also, the texture of the squash seemed incompatible with the other ingredients and didn't seem to belong. Recipe sounded delicious but needs some big adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was REALLy good. Next time I think I will add some raisins and sliced almonds in the last step. Just to add a little sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was a huge hit at a party I had in the fall, and when I asked my boyfriend what he wanted me to make for Valentine's Day dinner, this is what he requested! Don't make the potato pieces too small or they break up - I like to have the texture of the potatoes, so I'll remember to make them a little bigger next time. Also, start with a potato masher on the garbanzo beans - it will speed things up and then you can use a fork on the ones the masher didn't get. The stew is quite spicy but my crowd seems to like it that way - serving over rice would probably help if you don't like this much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
this was okay. the overall texture needed something. i did not want it to be complete mush, as others have commented on, so i varied the cooking times & steps. i cooked the potatoes for about 10 minutes, then added the other veggies. i noticed that there wasn't much liquid, so i cooked them while covered. this took about 15 minutes, where i then added the mashed up garbanzo beans. overall, the cooking time was about 30 to 35 minutes, not 55. once all stirred up & blended together, the flavor was nice, but the texture was confusing to the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I loved it! Based on other reviews, I cut the spices in half and it was perfect, but I don't like anything too spicy. I had fresh squash and just put it in with the potatoes. I also added some garlic to the onions because I like garlic :-) I also added 2/3 cup quinoa for added protein and nutrition. I'd say this is a new top favorite of mine, especially as I am trying to limit my meat consumption for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coleyfury
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Spicy and Delicious. As in other reviews, I found that the potatoes did not need to cook quite so long. Also, I added a bunch of garlic. It is delicious, but the plain yogurt makes it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
this was an awesome winter meal made with things I always have on hand in the winter. My kids don't often eat winter squash unless it's mixed in with other stuff. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I made this last night and DH and I both agreed that it was a great tasting and flavorful vegetarian dish and definitely a 'keeper'! We LOVED the spiciness and texture. Mine didn't turn out mushy at all. I cooked yellow crooked neck squash separately and added later but next time, I will just throw it in w/ the cauliflower! I like the idea of serving it over something...maybe WW couscous? Delicious and great comfort food for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was delicious! I served it with garlic naan... my boyfriend and I loved it. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States