Curried Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I am reviewing this again because I changed the four stars to five with a few changes I added. It was wonderful before but for my taste I have tweeked it with the following: I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic with the onions then added the spinach, along with kosher salt and freshly ground pepper until completely cooked. I used two potatoes reserving 1/2. Threw all together and used an emulsion blender to puree. Added the sour cream mixture then added the reserved potatoes and used a potato masher to break them up which added some texture. (Also used madras curry). My friends and family now BEG me to make this frequently. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNE49R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
AMAZING!!!!! I have a vegan daughter and so I substituted high quality vegetable broth (I used imagine organic)and it is great. I am always on the lookout for vegan things I like also. The lemon is a really nice touch. This is so healthy. If you like soup, spinach and curry you will love this. By the way if you make a lot of soup buy a hand held blender it cuts down the work significantly. I just added the flour over the spinach cooked it then slowly added the broth and then zapped it with the hand held blender. My only regret is I should have doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I've made this soup twice and it's addictive. I made a few adjustments. I used leek instead of green onion because I had it. I didn't use the potato, because I didn't have it, but I added some onion. Also I used yogurt instead of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Delicious! RAVE reviews in our house. Used leeks in place of the green onion, and the flavor really came through in a nice way. This is one recipe where it's really important to taste and adjust seasonings several times throughout the process, as curry powder can vary widely in strength and quality depending on source (and age) of your curry. Start with half the curry and lemmon called for in the recipe, then add more to your taste. Lemon zest, rather than lots of lemon juice, worked well for me. One note: I got lazy with the spinach leaves and didn't stem them very well (using baby spinach, thought they'd be tender enough). They weren't; strings got all wrapped around my hand blender and I had to pull them out by hand :-( But the end soup was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe, & next time I won't be so lazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
IGNORE THE PICTURE! I didn't read the other views carefully and didn't realize the soup would look nothing like photo. I also didn't read the recipe before making it... oops. So when I was getting out the spinach out, I spotted some asparagus and thought I would throw some in with the green onions. I suppose I made curried spinach ASPARAGUS soup. I liked it - I would do it again! I used a meatless "chicken" soup base, omitted lemon juice and used nonfat greek yogurt. I didn't add all the spinach - it was quite thick and rich without all of it. I have an immersion blender on order from Amazon, so I pureed it in my food processor. I think it would sell well to most adult family members and at church potlucks - which tend to be vegetarian. Go ahead try it - just don't imagine the photo. Think GREEN - VERY GREEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
While I may have changed around the cooking method (one less pot to wash) and omitted the potato (imo, not necessary when using a slurry), this soup came together very quickly and blended into a bright emerald green (gotta love immersion blenders!). Watch the amount of curry powder though -- mine is dangerous, so there was no way I could have added the full 2 teaspoons without setting mouths afire -- start small and taste, taste, taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I made this soup last night for dinner with jerk chicken & pineapple rice. This was the perfect touch. I used soup base instead of already made broth, added one clove of garlic in with the onion, used regular (not lowfat) sour cream,squeezed a fresh lemon, and served with fresh baked baguette bread. Also, when adding curry powder,I used 2 HEAPING teaspoons. We love the curry taste. A little tip to make it easier...If you are using a blender, add about 1/2 cup of broth to the potato spinach mixture. It will puree much easier this way. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This soup has a pretty bizarre texture. That may be in part because I didn't remove the stems of the spinach. But it was tasty and filling and creamy, I would make it again in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtinab33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was such a great and simple soup! It was a snap to make with very few ingredients. I used an immersion blender to mix ingredients. Also, I added all ingredients to one pot (with the exception of the potatoes which I cooked separately). I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This soup was fabulous. Made it entirely vegan by substituting the chicken broth with vegetable and instead of sour cream I used Tofutti's Better than Sour Cream. I also added a carrot to the onions when sautéing. I thought the soup could have used more broth as mine was extremely thick. It was still delicious though and this will be a permanent soup recipe in my collection. I served it with a dollop of “sour cream” and an extra squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States