Curried Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
best soup I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I am reviewing this again because I changed the four stars to five with a few changes I added. It was wonderful before but for my taste I have tweeked it with the following: I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic with the onions then added the spinach, along with kosher salt and freshly ground pepper until completely cooked. I used two potatoes reserving 1/2. Threw all together and used an emulsion blender to puree. Added the sour cream mixture then added the reserved potatoes and used a potato masher to break them up which added some texture. (Also used madras curry). My friends and family now BEG me to make this frequently. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNE49R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Tasty and filling! This recipe is sure to become a new favorite, since I always have the ingredients on hand. I didn't puree anything and used diced white onions instead of green. Needs a dash of salt, but this is a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
My soup turned out okay, but also I didn't have all the ingredients and so it could have been my own fault. I used potato flakes instead of a potato and added a can of tomato sauce and some basil. I didn't have any sour cream, but I think if I put a dollop in my soup it would round it out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I made this soup last night for dinner with jerk chicken & pineapple rice. This was the perfect touch. I used soup base instead of already made broth, added one clove of garlic in with the onion, used regular (not lowfat) sour cream,squeezed a fresh lemon, and served with fresh baked baguette bread. Also, when adding curry powder,I used 2 HEAPING teaspoons. We love the curry taste. A little tip to make it easier...If you are using a blender, add about 1/2 cup of broth to the potato spinach mixture. It will puree much easier this way. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
not for me or hubby, tasted very bland and baby foodish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
We enjoyed this. I only had 4 oz. light sour cream and it was great. I also cut some extra green onion to garnish with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This soup was fabulous. Made it entirely vegan by substituting the chicken broth with vegetable and instead of sour cream I used Tofutti's Better than Sour Cream. I also added a carrot to the onions when sautéing. I thought the soup could have used more broth as mine was extremely thick. It was still delicious though and this will be a permanent soup recipe in my collection. I served it with a dollop of “sour cream” and an extra squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Delicious, will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
AMAZING!!!!! I have a vegan daughter and so I substituted high quality vegetable broth (I used imagine organic)and it is great. I am always on the lookout for vegan things I like also. The lemon is a really nice touch. This is so healthy. If you like soup, spinach and curry you will love this. By the way if you make a lot of soup buy a hand held blender it cuts down the work significantly. I just added the flour over the spinach cooked it then slowly added the broth and then zapped it with the hand held blender. My only regret is I should have doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States