Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Childofchaos
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Excellent... My only suggestion is to use heavy cream and a bit more butter. This is excellent paired with coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made the crab meat/sherry variation as the submitter suggested in her recipe description. I simmered the sherry with the stock rather than adding at the end - did not want the "raw" liquor taste. I think this would have been infinitely better without the curry. Very dominant and distracting. Also - too much butter to saute vegetables results in little "grease nodules" floating on the top of the soup. Not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was a very good and pretty easy-to-make recipe. It also had an "elegant" feel to it. I'd never bought chicken stock before, but I managed to find some at my store. I bought some medium-size (51-60 count) shrimp, since the recipe didn't specify a size, and I thought they might be too big for this recipe, but I thought they worked nicely. Also, I wasn't sure if I should have left the tails on (some shrimp recipes do, some don't, and I don't know what the "rules" are), so I took the tails off. However, I thought the brandy overpowered the other flavors quite a bit. Maybe a higher-quality brandy than what I had on hand would've tasted better, or maybe I should just have reduced the quantity. In the end, though, this was the first recipe I've added to my recipe box in quite a while. I just may try it again, this time with crab/lobster (and sherry), as the recipe description suggests. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was amazing!!! I didn't have green onions or brandy and I used fat free half and half. My friend the gourmet cook was here and she raved about it all weekend. It is quick and easy and definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Oooh, this was good! I roughly chopped up the shrimps for the bisque but garnished it with a huge tiger prawn (tiger shrimp? Not sure of the difference). I diced the onion a little chunkier than the celery, and used a small splash of Marsala wine instead of brandy. The green onion sprinkles were pretty, but next time I think I'll use fresh chives. This was super delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Sorry to say, but I did NOT like the brandy in this one. Way too overpowering. I would make it again, but probably completely omit the brandy. (And, yes! I am a drinker!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I didn't use the brandy and instead used cooking sherry before the flour. I used heavy whipping cream instead of the light cream. I also added a pinch of garam masala and garlic salt in the end to each serving because it needed a little something. Next time I will use only half the celery and substitute the green onions with fresh cilantro to give it a more authentic taste. Also, I think I will use a little more tomato paste. All very minor tweaks that made this good recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Interesting flavor combination. A little salty for my tastes. But overall a great soup alternative from the standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by tbender36
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good recipe....the only change I made was that I used heavy cream as opposed to light cream. I think I wouldve given this five stars if the shrimp I bought tasted better....it tasted kind of fishy, but all in all, I'd definitely recommend this recipe...can't blame the recipe creator when I'm buying the Kroger brand of shrimp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbender36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
A little bland, adding a little more paprika next time. Also, used Greek yogurt instead of the cream and 1 cup less chicken broth and it was thicker. It was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States