Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Childofchaos
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Excellent... My only suggestion is to use heavy cream and a bit more butter. This is excellent paired with coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made the crab meat/sherry variation as the submitter suggested in her recipe description. I simmered the sherry with the stock rather than adding at the end - did not want the "raw" liquor taste. I think this would have been infinitely better without the curry. Very dominant and distracting. Also - too much butter to saute vegetables results in little "grease nodules" floating on the top of the soup. Not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was a very good and pretty easy-to-make recipe. It also had an "elegant" feel to it. I'd never bought chicken stock before, but I managed to find some at my store. I bought some medium-size (51-60 count) shrimp, since the recipe didn't specify a size, and I thought they might be too big for this recipe, but I thought they worked nicely. Also, I wasn't sure if I should have left the tails on (some shrimp recipes do, some don't, and I don't know what the "rules" are), so I took the tails off. However, I thought the brandy overpowered the other flavors quite a bit. Maybe a higher-quality brandy than what I had on hand would've tasted better, or maybe I should just have reduced the quantity. In the end, though, this was the first recipe I've added to my recipe box in quite a while. I just may try it again, this time with crab/lobster (and sherry), as the recipe description suggests. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was amazing!!! I didn't have green onions or brandy and I used fat free half and half. My friend the gourmet cook was here and she raved about it all weekend. It is quick and easy and definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Oooh, this was good! I roughly chopped up the shrimps for the bisque but garnished it with a huge tiger prawn (tiger shrimp? Not sure of the difference). I diced the onion a little chunkier than the celery, and used a small splash of Marsala wine instead of brandy. The green onion sprinkles were pretty, but next time I think I'll use fresh chives. This was super delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Sorry to say, but I did NOT like the brandy in this one. Way too overpowering. I would make it again, but probably completely omit the brandy. (And, yes! I am a drinker!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I didn't use the brandy and instead used cooking sherry before the flour. I used heavy whipping cream instead of the light cream. I also added a pinch of garam masala and garlic salt in the end to each serving because it needed a little something. Next time I will use only half the celery and substitute the green onions with fresh cilantro to give it a more authentic taste. Also, I think I will use a little more tomato paste. All very minor tweaks that made this good recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Interesting flavor combination. A little salty for my tastes. But overall a great soup alternative from the standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by tbender36
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good recipe....the only change I made was that I used heavy cream as opposed to light cream. I think I wouldve given this five stars if the shrimp I bought tasted better....it tasted kind of fishy, but all in all, I'd definitely recommend this recipe...can't blame the recipe creator when I'm buying the Kroger brand of shrimp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbender36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
A little bland, adding a little more paprika next time. Also, used Greek yogurt instead of the cream and 1 cup less chicken broth and it was thicker. It was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States