Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Delicious! Instead of cooking with chicken stock, I boiled the raw shrimp in 3 1/2 cups of water with 2 chicken bouillon cubes. After the shrimp was cooked, I added that stock to the paste mixture. Turned out awesome! I also omitted the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was a good soup, and I'm sure it would have been good as it is stated, but it gave me a basis to go by. I used a little frozen tomato instead of the paste, milk instead of light cream and cooked my shrimp in a separate pan with a little bit of garlic and paprika and then deglazed the pan with a splash of apricot brandy and a little white wine instead of the brandy it calls for in the recipe. I had to thicken the soup a little more because of my changes, but it was very good. My 20 month old even scraped her bowl clean. I would just be careful with the salt and add it at the end once you've tasted it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was amazing!!! I didn't have green onions or brandy and I used fat free half and half. My friend the gourmet cook was here and she raved about it all weekend. It is quick and easy and definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
YUM! We were trying to recreate a soup we had at a Kauai restaurant a couple of years ago. This came pretty dang close! I used heavy cream and frozen shrimp, and it was delicious. Just for grins next time I might play around with different curries, and try a seafood stock instead of chicken stock. This could be a meal in itself, it was so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so delicious! I will definitely make this again. The only thing I substituted was the curry for cayenne pepper. I didn't have any curry, but next time will try with curry. For a creamy and delicious bisque...TRY THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I am a true fan of shrimp bisque, and this recipe stands with the best. I would place it up against with the bisque that I get from my favorite seafood resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Oooh, this was good! I roughly chopped up the shrimps for the bisque but garnished it with a huge tiger prawn (tiger shrimp? Not sure of the difference). I diced the onion a little chunkier than the celery, and used a small splash of Marsala wine instead of brandy. The green onion sprinkles were pretty, but next time I think I'll use fresh chives. This was super delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I wasn't quite satisfied with the end result, but when I added 4 tablespoons of Chalula (hot sauce) the taste was much improved. I didn't use the brandy, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Amazing, the only thing I changed was I didnt use the brandy due to religious resons, but its a huge hit amongst family and friends. I love it and I've made it more than three times so far. Its great over basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! i used uncooked shrimps and omitted the brandy. Its definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States