Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very delicious. Left out the brandy and made coconut rice to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I just tried this, after only having shrimp bisque in restaurants. I replaced the light cream with cream cheese and milk, and didn't add brandy. It was delicious! Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This turned out really good!! I chopped the shrimp to ensure a piece in every spoonfull! It got 5 stars at our house! (I also sneaked in a hint of cayenne pepper for a little kick). I skipped the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Childofchaos
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Excellent... My only suggestion is to use heavy cream and a bit more butter. This is excellent paired with coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
If you like curry, you should love this recipe - it was great! Before adding the shrimp, I blended it. I used 1C heavy cream and chopped the shrimp up fine before adding. Next time I will increase butter to 4Tbl to help absorb the flour mix. This will become one of my favorites and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I've made this several times for different people and it's always a hit!! This last time, I skipped the cream and added some cornflour mixed with cold water, potatoes, and mushrooms...this made a very thick base so I had it as a main curry dish. It was excellent! Thanks so much fot the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My sister and I made this for dinner one night and we were so blown away by the taste, amazing! Besides adding the shrimp we also added crab meat and chives which made it a delicious seafood soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Fabulous! I was out of light cream so I substituted with heavy cream. Otherwise, I followed the directions completely. I may try a tad more curry next time--not because this is at all bland but because I LOVE spicy foods. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
We really liked this at our house. I left out the brady because we don't drink and used coconut milk in place of the cream for our dairy allergic child. He's 18 months and loved it. We had to stop feeding it to him for fear of what might happen later with the spice and all. I served it with coconut rice and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Left out the brandy, celery and tomato paste, added some corn and used heavy cream (worked with what I had). But it came out great! It is a favorite with family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States