Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
If you like curry, you should love this recipe - it was great! Before adding the shrimp, I blended it. I used 1C heavy cream and chopped the shrimp up fine before adding. Next time I will increase butter to 4Tbl to help absorb the flour mix. This will become one of my favorites and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Liked it a lot but substituted cream sherry for the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I just tried this, after only having shrimp bisque in restaurants. I replaced the light cream with cream cheese and milk, and didn't add brandy. It was delicious! Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This wasn't quite 3*s nor was it 4*s but I gave it four because maybe my substitutions affected the outcome. I cut the recipe in half & I'm out of celery so I subbed a tsp of celery seed for flavor. I'm also out of broth so I made some w/ chicken base & I'm out of tomato paste so I subbed tomato sauce. If I were to make it again, I would decrease the curry & paprika some. I added the brandy when I added the stock so that it could simmer some & I used fat-free half & half. Was trying to make it healthier but it needs heavy cream to add richness to the broth. I almost pureed this but in the end decided not to. I didn't have any green onions so I used garlic chives as a garnish. Thsi was allright but I'm not sure I'll make it again...it just didn't wow us. Thansk for letting me try it Jayda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The curry was runny and it tasted a bit weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Interesting flavor combination. A little salty for my tastes. But overall a great soup alternative from the standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Great flavors, next time I'll let it simmer a bit longer to mellow the Brandy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was a very good and pretty easy-to-make recipe. It also had an "elegant" feel to it. I'd never bought chicken stock before, but I managed to find some at my store. I bought some medium-size (51-60 count) shrimp, since the recipe didn't specify a size, and I thought they might be too big for this recipe, but I thought they worked nicely. Also, I wasn't sure if I should have left the tails on (some shrimp recipes do, some don't, and I don't know what the "rules" are), so I took the tails off. However, I thought the brandy overpowered the other flavors quite a bit. Maybe a higher-quality brandy than what I had on hand would've tasted better, or maybe I should just have reduced the quantity. In the end, though, this was the first recipe I've added to my recipe box in quite a while. I just may try it again, this time with crab/lobster (and sherry), as the recipe description suggests. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Childofchaos
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Excellent... My only suggestion is to use heavy cream and a bit more butter. This is excellent paired with coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States