Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Left out the brandy, celery and tomato paste, added some corn and used heavy cream (worked with what I had). But it came out great! It is a favorite with family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This turned out really good!! I chopped the shrimp to ensure a piece in every spoonfull! It got 5 stars at our house! (I also sneaked in a hint of cayenne pepper for a little kick). I skipped the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
We really liked this at our house. I left out the brady because we don't drink and used coconut milk in place of the cream for our dairy allergic child. He's 18 months and loved it. We had to stop feeding it to him for fear of what might happen later with the spice and all. I served it with coconut rice and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
The way I made it should actually be rated 3 stars, I left out the flour because I'm doing low carb. It seemed to be missing something else, though. If I make it again, I would puree some of it and maybe add some cream cheese and/or sour cream to give it a little 'tang'. Or maybe a little bit of coconut milk. I did enjoy the brandy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Not a bad recipe, but "chicken stock" wouldn't be my preference. HOWEVER - this is perfect for the home armature, but I would learn how to make homemade stocks. Get fresh unpealed shrimp, cook and strain water into another pot. Use that water and cook veggies in it. Then proceed with recipe. No chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Fabulous! I was out of light cream so I substituted with heavy cream. Otherwise, I followed the directions completely. I may try a tad more curry next time--not because this is at all bland but because I LOVE spicy foods. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My sister and I made this for dinner one night and we were so blown away by the taste, amazing! Besides adding the shrimp we also added crab meat and chives which made it a delicious seafood soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Sorry to say, but I did NOT like the brandy in this one. Way too overpowering. I would make it again, but probably completely omit the brandy. (And, yes! I am a drinker!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very delicious. Left out the brandy and made coconut rice to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I've made this several times for different people and it's always a hit!! This last time, I skipped the cream and added some cornflour mixed with cold water, potatoes, and mushrooms...this made a very thick base so I had it as a main curry dish. It was excellent! Thanks so much fot the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States