Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Delicious! Instead of cooking with chicken stock, I boiled the raw shrimp in 3 1/2 cups of water with 2 chicken bouillon cubes. After the shrimp was cooked, I added that stock to the paste mixture. Turned out awesome! I also omitted the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was a good soup, and I'm sure it would have been good as it is stated, but it gave me a basis to go by. I used a little frozen tomato instead of the paste, milk instead of light cream and cooked my shrimp in a separate pan with a little bit of garlic and paprika and then deglazed the pan with a splash of apricot brandy and a little white wine instead of the brandy it calls for in the recipe. I had to thicken the soup a little more because of my changes, but it was very good. My 20 month old even scraped her bowl clean. I would just be careful with the salt and add it at the end once you've tasted it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was amazing!!! I didn't have green onions or brandy and I used fat free half and half. My friend the gourmet cook was here and she raved about it all weekend. It is quick and easy and definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
YUM! We were trying to recreate a soup we had at a Kauai restaurant a couple of years ago. This came pretty dang close! I used heavy cream and frozen shrimp, and it was delicious. Just for grins next time I might play around with different curries, and try a seafood stock instead of chicken stock. This could be a meal in itself, it was so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so delicious! I will definitely make this again. The only thing I substituted was the curry for cayenne pepper. I didn't have any curry, but next time will try with curry. For a creamy and delicious bisque...TRY THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I am a true fan of shrimp bisque, and this recipe stands with the best. I would place it up against with the bisque that I get from my favorite seafood resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Galena Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Oooh, this was good! I roughly chopped up the shrimps for the bisque but garnished it with a huge tiger prawn (tiger shrimp? Not sure of the difference). I diced the onion a little chunkier than the celery, and used a small splash of Marsala wine instead of brandy. The green onion sprinkles were pretty, but next time I think I'll use fresh chives. This was super delicious. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I wasn't quite satisfied with the end result, but when I added 4 tablespoons of Chalula (hot sauce) the taste was much improved. I didn't use the brandy, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Amazing, the only thing I changed was I didnt use the brandy due to religious resons, but its a huge hit amongst family and friends. I love it and I've made it more than three times so far. Its great over basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! i used uncooked shrimps and omitted the brandy. Its definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States