Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was a simple and amazing soup. My entire family loved it. I didn't have any brandy but put a few tablespoons of bourbon in at the end of cooking. I also added a sprinkle of cayenne to kick up the heat. It was FABULOUS! I have made it again and it is a permanent addition to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
We loved this! It is rich and delicious. I used whipping cream and cream sherry and let it simmer for about 30 minutes. I also cut up the shrimp so you get a little with most bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend because he loves dishes with curry. I switched the chick stock to vegetable stock, since I am a vegetarian. I also omitted the brandy and put more paprika to make it extra spicy. He liked it a lot, and keeps asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
It's on our favorites list! Like some other reviewers I left out the brandy, 'cause I don't have any! I cut the shrimp in the soup into spoon-sized portions. I also used half and half instead of light cream, and omitted the green onions since my hubby doesn't like them. The whole family including the picky 9 year old liked this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
One word: EXCELLENT !!!!!!! sorry I can't give this any more than 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Fantastic and so easy. Don't skip the brandy..it really rounds out the flavor and the alcohol will cook out. My son loved this so much he wanted the leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was a wonderful soup, I did add white rice to give it more substance. My husband thought is was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I would use less curry powder next time, that was a little overwhelming. I did use fat free half and half, and couldn't tell. I also omitted the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is a fabulous starter recipe. I wanted more of a Thai flavor, so I used coconut milk in place of the cream, and added chopped cashews, cilantro, and a some fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
***** I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could! It was absolutely fantastic. I can honestly say that this was better than anything I have gotten in a fine restaurant. The curry is mild, so don't let that ingredient scare you away. And you truly do need the brandy to give it that special 'oomph. I topped my bowls with chopped chives fresh from my herb garden. I highly recommend this bisque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States