Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
A little bland, adding a little more paprika next time. Also, used Greek yogurt instead of the cream and 1 cup less chicken broth and it was thicker. It was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Yummy! I left out the brandy since I didn't have it. Used a hand blender to coarsly chop the shrimp. Didn't have the light cream so used light coconut milk. Has really good flavor still. I added some brown rice to the bowl too. Will make again since its so easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made the crab meat/sherry variation as the submitter suggested in her recipe description. I simmered the sherry with the stock rather than adding at the end - did not want the "raw" liquor taste. I think this would have been infinitely better without the curry. Very dominant and distracting. Also - too much butter to saute vegetables results in little "grease nodules" floating on the top of the soup. Not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
"It's a keeper" coming from my husband. We both thought some type of rice would be good. perhaps jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
A terrific soup -- fairly quick and easy to prep, almost impossible to go wrong. And very tasty. I often tinker with recipes but followed this to the letter -- didn't have any cognac handy, and didn't miss it. Another reviewer used coconut milk and I'm sure that would be a nice touch. Suggest using small shrimp, or rough-chop larger shrimp into bite-size pieces. I'm gonna try this with lobster, too. This is a great "starter," but we had it as a main course with a side salad and hot fresh bread. This one goes in our "favorites" file, eager to try it on company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
definitely do not include the brandy!! way too strong. it was all i could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Good recipe. This was a tasty soup and liked by all 4 adults trying it. I omitted the brandy and green onions b/c I didn't have any. I liked the curry in it. It is not as good as I've had at most restaurants though. I prefer a thicker and creamier bisque. I will definitely make this again using vegetable or fish stock and adding heavy cream instead. I will also try it with the brandy and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by queennicole
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I'm giving this recipe a 5 star rating because it is truly fantastic for how simple it is. I chopped the veggies very small and added roughly chopped portabella mushrooms. I kept everything else the same except did not add brandy. Next time I will try it with coconut milk instead of the cream. Overall, it's superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queennicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Rich & tasty for a cold evening. Very good & easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tbender36
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good recipe....the only change I made was that I used heavy cream as opposed to light cream. I think I wouldve given this five stars if the shrimp I bought tasted better....it tasted kind of fishy, but all in all, I'd definitely recommend this recipe...can't blame the recipe creator when I'm buying the Kroger brand of shrimp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbender36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States