Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Great recipe! Wish I would have made a bigger pot! Added heavy cream and milk mixture because I didn't have light cream. Also added more curry powder because I love curry! Will definitely make this again but will double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
So dreamy! Everyone ate it up, even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Use Heavy Cream and forget the Brandy. My 12 year old said this was better than chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dieghton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The ONLY change i made to this recipe - added 2 ounces of cooking sherry instead of brandy. (I don't understand how a person can rate a recipe after they changed the entire thing...and then only give it one star!) This bisque is AMAZING! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was excellent!!! I increased the curry powder, shrimp and added cayenne pepper for a kick. Also used coconut milk instead of cream. There was not a drop leftover this was such a hit! Also omitted the booze and drank my wine on the side instead. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had to make a few substitutions due to a few food intolerance issues (dairy and gluten). I used olive oil in place of the butter, cornstarch for the flour and coconut milk for the cream. As so many have said that the brandy is overpowering, I also used cooking sherry. I didn't really like to flavors on this, perhaps because I couldn't really make a proper roux without butter and flour. Unfortunately, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I didn't use the brandy and instead used cooking sherry before the flour. I used heavy whipping cream instead of the light cream. I also added a pinch of garam masala and garlic salt in the end to each serving because it needed a little something. Next time I will use only half the celery and substitute the green onions with fresh cilantro to give it a more authentic taste. Also, I think I will use a little more tomato paste. All very minor tweaks that made this good recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe just didn't work for me. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good. Everything I tried to do to improve it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
My hubby and I thought this recipe was okay. I made a few additions/substitutions on it. Omitted the celery and brandy. I added: bean sprouts, diced red bell pepper, cooked chicken (cut in small chunks) and some coconut milk. I also added more curry powder and paprika. I also used heavy cream. I used baby shrimp, instead of cutting up the bigger shrimps, which was a time saver. I thought this was good, but still wasn't quite what I would like it to be. We have a local Thai place and I couldn't help compare this recipe to theirs. I wished this was a bit more spicy. We put it over jasmine rice and there was plenty of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I thought this was perfect! I might try lobster next time but it was great with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States