Curried Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Childofchaos
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Excellent... My only suggestion is to use heavy cream and a bit more butter. This is excellent paired with coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Childofchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was a very good and pretty easy-to-make recipe. It also had an "elegant" feel to it. I'd never bought chicken stock before, but I managed to find some at my store. I bought some medium-size (51-60 count) shrimp, since the recipe didn't specify a size, and I thought they might be too big for this recipe, but I thought they worked nicely. Also, I wasn't sure if I should have left the tails on (some shrimp recipes do, some don't, and I don't know what the "rules" are), so I took the tails off. However, I thought the brandy overpowered the other flavors quite a bit. Maybe a higher-quality brandy than what I had on hand would've tasted better, or maybe I should just have reduced the quantity. In the end, though, this was the first recipe I've added to my recipe box in quite a while. I just may try it again, this time with crab/lobster (and sherry), as the recipe description suggests. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Great flavors, next time I'll let it simmer a bit longer to mellow the Brandy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Interesting flavor combination. A little salty for my tastes. But overall a great soup alternative from the standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The curry was runny and it tasted a bit weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This wasn't quite 3*s nor was it 4*s but I gave it four because maybe my substitutions affected the outcome. I cut the recipe in half & I'm out of celery so I subbed a tsp of celery seed for flavor. I'm also out of broth so I made some w/ chicken base & I'm out of tomato paste so I subbed tomato sauce. If I were to make it again, I would decrease the curry & paprika some. I added the brandy when I added the stock so that it could simmer some & I used fat-free half & half. Was trying to make it healthier but it needs heavy cream to add richness to the broth. I almost pureed this but in the end decided not to. I didn't have any green onions so I used garlic chives as a garnish. Thsi was allright but I'm not sure I'll make it again...it just didn't wow us. Thansk for letting me try it Jayda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I just tried this, after only having shrimp bisque in restaurants. I replaced the light cream with cream cheese and milk, and didn't add brandy. It was delicious! Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Liked it a lot but substituted cream sherry for the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
If you like curry, you should love this recipe - it was great! Before adding the shrimp, I blended it. I used 1C heavy cream and chopped the shrimp up fine before adding. Next time I will increase butter to 4Tbl to help absorb the flour mix. This will become one of my favorites and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I've made this several times for different people and it's always a hit!! This last time, I skipped the cream and added some cornflour mixed with cold water, potatoes, and mushrooms...this made a very thick base so I had it as a main curry dish. It was excellent! Thanks so much fot the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States