Curried Shrimp Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My family loved this curried shrimp recipe. I also made revisions, The sauce was too bland, so I doubled the curry and added some ground red pepper. Instead of layering as indicated in recipe, I added cream sauce to the shrimp in the casserole dish, and then stirred the rice into the casserole. Grated the cheese and added on top with paprika before baking. Made it for Christmas Eve late lunch with salad and fresh baked bread. I have been told that this is now a required holiday recipe! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chairman James
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
A great recipe that you can adjust as you like. You like a hotter curry, double the curry powder. Not a fan of celery or onion, omit, it still tastes great. Plain yogurt would be an excellent substitute for the milk, if needed. A quick short cut.... buy the shrimp at the fresh meat counter at the grocery store, and have them steam it. (many stores do this free of charge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was pretty good. Didn't change anything except my celery/onion measure was about a cup each. Otherwise made this tonight exactly as directed and DH went back for seconds which almost NEVER happens. Have discovered curry only recently and this was a real nice way to enjoy it. Thanks for another regular rotation dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Loved it! My 4 year old asked me to make it all the time :) The only changes I made were using only 1 cup of uncooked rice instead of a cup and a half. I also added a handful of little button mushrooms. Mmmmm... btw, I just cooked my shrimp in the sauce before pouring it over the rice. worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This dish was scrumptious, even to my curry-loathing husband. I did make a few adjustments to suit our tastes; I added 3 grated garlic cloves, a little slice of grated ginger, and dash of red pepper flakes, with the onions and celery. I used a can of coconut milk and 3/4 can milk, added an extra 1/2 cup of cheese to the sauce, and doubled the curry powder & salt. Also added some frozen peas right before layering (rice, shrimp, sauce, rice, shrimp, sauce, cheese) Btw. My (tiny) shrimp weren't cooked, so baked them in the oven for approx. 5 minutes with some salt and lemon juice, before adding. Thanks for this great dish MsKillian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
It was pretty good. I substituted rice for potatoes with turmeric and cumin. I also added Hot Madras Curry Powder instead of a regular one. All my guests like it and ask for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My four year old loved it! I didn't have any celery or onion, so I just put the milk in a saucepan, added the curry powder, flour, half the salt, 1/2 tsp celery salt and 1/2 tsp onion powder, and brought it to a boil, stirring constantly with a wisk. I also added a bit extra cheese both in the sauce and on top, probably 1/2 cup extra in total. I prepared the rest as described, though I cut my shrimp into smaller pieces. Makes a good family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
We absolutely loved this!! (...and I am not usually a big fan of curry - my husband is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was excellent! I made some modifications, partially based on the other reviews, and partly to make it healthier: I used brown rice, doubled the curry, and I added some diced carrot to the celery and onion for sweetness and I left out the sugar. I also added in some ginger and garlic after step one. It was very flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States