Curried Shrimp Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I used two pounds of large shrimp and adjusted the recipe for the extra shrimp and mixed in some frozen broccoli for a veggie. Served with garlic toast. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Liked this a lot. Doubled curry powder as suggested but otherwise made as written. I will add a little cayenne or Old Bay next time to up the spiciness (I used mild sweet curry powder)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My son made this using the less expensive smaller-sized salad shrimp and brown rice and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Hi! This is my recipe and I want to thank everyone for the great reviews. Editorially,I'd recommend doubling or even tripling the amount of curry that is used. I also mix it all together prior to putting it in the casserole, get more even distribution. This recipe can definitely be frozen. In my opinion, it is one of those that absolutely tastes better on the second day. Glad you all enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Used brown rice, a whole onion finely chopped, and 8oz sliced mushrooms instead of the celery. Did not use any sugar. At the end, I mixed rice, sauce, and shrimp all together before putting in the baking dish. The flavor was quite mild, so next time I will do as other reviewers and double the curry. All in all it was tasty! *Update* Was making this dish tonight for the third time and decided to sub quinoa for the rice. We really liked it, and I will use the quinoa in place of the rice from now on-so much more nutritious for you! I also have upped the curry to a rounded TBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We really liked this! I might cut back on the curry a little when making again, but we enjoyed it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My family really enjoyed this. I had to make one change, I did not have lemons so I used limes instead. Was great thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner, I substituted rigatoni pasta for the rice. I also layered it, starting with lightly buttering the bottom of my pyrex dish, then noodles, shrimp, sauce, repeat, I ended with extra cheese. I also sautéed 3 cloves of garlic in with my onion and used Madras curry. My husband gave it an "11"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this recipe to bring to a casserole potluck with my extended family. It was relatively simple to make. I prepared the rice in my rice cooker, which saved on time and effort. I love shrimp and the curry sauce had good flavors. My family liked it without the heat/spice that is associated with curries, so this recipe was great for that. If I were to just make it at home, next time I might try to add some heat with some red pepper or maybe some finely chopped jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Baldridge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States