Curried Shrimp Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This wasn't what I had in mind for the shrimp curry I was craving, but it turned out nicely. I substituted the milk for coconut milk to give it more of a Thai flavor. The curry flavor wasn't as strong as I would prefer. But the meal was delicious and my three year old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aesj22
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Great recipe! I normally cook a recipe exactly as listed the first time, but did make a few changes. I had no celery, so I left it out. I generally add a shake of salt to my rice while cooking. Additionally, I tasted while cooking the sauce and had to make a few slight changes. I doubled the curry powder, added a good shake of red pepper and an additional dash of salt. I grated too much cheese, so I added it to the sauce (about an additional 1/2 cup). I also added some salt and curry powder to the shrimp while cooking it (but did not put the liquid from the shrimp pan into the casserole). Lastly, next time I will add the rice, shrimp and sauce in layers. I almost stirred the sauce (as opposed to inserting with the tines of the fork) and it still did not get to the bottom of the rice. This would also be good with some steamed brocolli or sweet peas added prior to baking. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Photo by Pegeen
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Added garlic and mushrooms, ditched the celery. Flippin awesome stuff. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pegeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was excellent! I made some modifications, partially based on the other reviews, and partly to make it healthier: I used brown rice, doubled the curry, and I added some diced carrot to the celery and onion for sweetness and I left out the sugar. I also added in some ginger and garlic after step one. It was very flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My four year old loved it! I didn't have any celery or onion, so I just put the milk in a saucepan, added the curry powder, flour, half the salt, 1/2 tsp celery salt and 1/2 tsp onion powder, and brought it to a boil, stirring constantly with a wisk. I also added a bit extra cheese both in the sauce and on top, probably 1/2 cup extra in total. I prepared the rest as described, though I cut my shrimp into smaller pieces. Makes a good family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
We absolutely loved this!! (...and I am not usually a big fan of curry - my husband is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Used brown rice, a whole onion finely chopped, and 8oz sliced mushrooms instead of the celery. Did not use any sugar. At the end, I mixed rice, sauce, and shrimp all together before putting in the baking dish. The flavor was quite mild, so next time I will do as other reviewers and double the curry. All in all it was tasty! *Update* Was making this dish tonight for the third time and decided to sub quinoa for the rice. We really liked it, and I will use the quinoa in place of the rice from now on-so much more nutritious for you! I also have upped the curry to a rounded TBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This dish was scrumptious, even to my curry-loathing husband. I did make a few adjustments to suit our tastes; I added 3 grated garlic cloves, a little slice of grated ginger, and dash of red pepper flakes, with the onions and celery. I used a can of coconut milk and 3/4 can milk, added an extra 1/2 cup of cheese to the sauce, and doubled the curry powder & salt. Also added some frozen peas right before layering (rice, shrimp, sauce, rice, shrimp, sauce, cheese) Btw. My (tiny) shrimp weren't cooked, so baked them in the oven for approx. 5 minutes with some salt and lemon juice, before adding. Thanks for this great dish MsKillian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
It was pretty good. I substituted rice for potatoes with turmeric and cumin. I also added Hot Madras Curry Powder instead of a regular one. All my guests like it and ask for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My family loved this curried shrimp recipe. I also made revisions, The sauce was too bland, so I doubled the curry and added some ground red pepper. Instead of layering as indicated in recipe, I added cream sauce to the shrimp in the casserole dish, and then stirred the rice into the casserole. Grated the cheese and added on top with paprika before baking. Made it for Christmas Eve late lunch with salad and fresh baked bread. I have been told that this is now a required holiday recipe! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States