Curried Salmon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. For two salmon pieces, I use 1/2 cup sour cream AT LEAST 1 1/2 tsp of curry powder and I add maybe 1/8 tsp of coriander to add a zing. Really, I just keep adding the spices 'til it tastes good! Put a piece of tin foil on the baking sheet to reduce clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Very quick,easy and delicious. I didn't have sour cream so I substitued mayo and added some garlic powder to the curry. A squeeze of lemon completes the fish..will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathi from NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This recipe is wonderful. I add a lot more curry powder than it calls for (approx. a quarter cup) and I add some garlic powder to the mix. It is very moist and flavorful!UPDATE: Added thin sliced onions (about a half cup) and Cyenne pepper to the mix. Oh yummo! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I had a leftover bottle of green curry paste and a can of coconut milk, so I figured why not? I doubled the amount of curry paste, added some garlic powder and lime juice and mixed it all in with the coconut milk. I decided to marinate the salmon in it for about two hours prior, and I ended up baking it with all the marinade poured on. Ended up with a wonderful flavor, and I was super-pleased that it came from such a simple recipe. 4/5 only because I ended up substituting a major ingredient; I have no idea how this tastes with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I made this tonite. Wow! Was this ever good. When i went to the store they had red, yellow, and green curry paste..I chose the red. I added some crushed garlic and a little pepper, and a squirt of lemon when the fish came out of the oven. Served with brown Basmati rice, carrots, and broccoli. Simple and good and healthy. The house still smells great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
First of call, thank you to the 1,300 plus members who have saved this recipe, and for those who have taken the time to recreate and review. Here is a bit of clarifying information re some differences between curry 'paste' which my recipe calls for, and curry 'powder'. I created this very simple recipe using Yellow Curry Paste. The brand name I prefer is Mae Ploy, a well-known Thai brand. Here is the ingredients list: Garlic, lemongrass, shot, dried red chile, salt, galanga, cumin, cinnamon, star anise, tumeric, kaffir lime peep and coriander seed. On the other hand, a typical curry powder, McCormick's is the most widely used one here in the U.S. contains: Coriander, fenugreek, tumeric, cumin, black pepper, bay leaves, celery seed, nutmeg, cloves, onion, redd pepper and ginger. Very different products, and like apples to oranges when comparing the 'right' amount to use. McCormick suggests 2 teaspoons for a standard 4 serving recipe as a jumping off point, however this particular recipe was not formulated using the quite different tasting powder. Call it a pet peeve, but I will never down-rate a recipe as being 'too mild' or 'too plain' or 'not enough flavor/heat etc' when substitutions have been made, as in the case of paste vs powder. Yogurt is a great sub for the sour cream, and I have made it with both regular and lowfat sour cream as well as lowfat plain (regular and Greek) yogurt and found it quite good. Hopefully this claification will be of help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCFOXY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I loved it! plus it's easy and fairly quick. My wife liked it but was less enthusiastic than I. As a beginning cook, I don't know what curry paste is. So I followed other suggestions and used curry powder. Ended up using 2 tsp for 1 cup sour cream. That was just the exact ratio for me, but a little bit strong for my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
A little bland for me. I will try this again since it's so simple and quick (took less than 5 min prep time) but will give a good, tart plain yoghurt a try instead of the sour cream. That should go nicely with the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I'll first admit I used curry powder rather than paste. This recipe is great because it provides plenty of flavor without overwhelming the salmon with a more complex spice treatment. The fish is quite moist. The result of such a simple recipe is a less layered taste than a traditional Indian preparation, so serve this with basmati rice and the Easy Curried Cauliflower from this site, which has more "layers" and quite a kick, and call it a successful dinner. That's what I'll be doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Pretty good and darned easy. I did have to double the curry paste to get enough flavor, though. (I used massaman curry paste -- I wonder which kind the recipe writer used?) I also added a bit of garlic and salt, and garnished the finished dish with cilantro leaves and chopped peanuts. People who are substituting curry powder -- it is probably tasty in its own way, but curry powder isn't substitutable for curry paste. It's a different beast, really. Please don't rate this recipe low if you substitute curry powder and it doesn't work for you. I think the recipe's pretty forgiving, though. If you mix the spice with the sour cream and it tastes good at that point, it will probably make tasty fish. If it tastes bland at that point, add more spice! The basic technique works with other flavors, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States