Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I recently read about the amazing nutritional value of quinoa (it's a complete protein by itself and has iron too - essential for vegetarians!) in a local paper. I've been a vegetarian for almost 25 years and couldn't beleive I'd never heard of this incredible grain. This was the first recipe I tried and it was a hit! I was a little nervous because I couldn't remember if my husband liked curry (you'd think I'd know after nearly 18 years!) and I know he's not crazy about mangos. He loved it! He says it's a great way for me to get him to eat mangos! I love that you can eat it cold so it's a great make ahead dish The only change I made the first time was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken. The second time I only used 1 tsp. curry because it was a little strong for me (though my husband liked it fine with 1 1/2). My 3 and 5 year-olds did not like it, which isn't surprising. They're in a "don't want to eat new things stage" right now. If you're wanting to try Quinoa and like curry you should defnitely make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I used spelt instead of Quinoa (My origonal plan was to use quinoa but when i opened my pantry I saw I did not have enough for this recipe, but had alread set my mind o making it....) I added mango, dried cranberries, scallions, diced celery, dried coconut and 3 tbsp. olive oil, 3 tbsp. of lime juice, salt & pepper and curry powder - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Wow! Loved the base flavors of this recipe, but I've made additions to accommodate my taste buds--cumin, cayenne, chipotle, parlsey, mint, lime&lemon juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Made it for a potluck at work and got rave reviews. I added 20 whole almonds to the recipe. The almonds provided a great crunch to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Wonderful dish. Perfect for a warm summer evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I made this and added Cranberies, Basil and Celery and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Super! I used vegetable stock to make it vegetarian. The mango makes it delicious. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Fantastic. Everyone in the family loved, even though they are not big on curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
delicious flavor! i loved this dish even though i don't ordinarily like green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Deeeeelish!!!! I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth to keep it totally vegetarian and I used fresh garlic instead of powder (didn't have any powder). The flavor is amazing, the quinoa is sufficiently chewy, but not too much. I will definitely make this again and again while mangoes are fresh in stock! I can also see how this recipe can be switched up to make a variety of sides and main courses. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States