Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Pretty good. I used vegetable stock to make it vegetarian. It could have used a little more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was a very good recipe, although I did not use the mango and green onion. My youngest who is very picky will never eat quinoa, and did made this way. I served curried honey mustard chicken (from this site) over top (instead of adding the mango and green onion) and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was very good and healthy too! I added blanched snap peas (cut in half), dash of tumeric and some fresh lemon juice to brighten the dish! I bet it would be good with garbanzo beans too for more protein and a different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
delicious flavor! i loved this dish even though i don't ordinarily like green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Fantastic. Everyone in the family loved, even though they are not big on curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I made this and added Cranberies, Basil and Celery and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by echosunshine
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this following the recipe exactly and it was a big hit! The mango I used was not too soft, so the pieces held their shape in the salad. Next time I'd reduce the chicken stock a little, as it was a little salty. I made it again one night when I didn't have any mango, so I used some mandarin orange sections and added a few sauteed mushrooms too - a nice variation. A great way to add quinoa to your repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This had nice flavor. Everyone seemed to like it. I liked that it didn't make 12 gallons of salad. My mango was pretty ripe, so it added a nice juicy flavor, but didn't do much for the texture in my opinion. Was really easy to make in stages -- cooked the quinoa, then fed a baby, chopped a mango, fed a baby, chopped an onion, fed a baby, mixed and served. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I used spelt instead of Quinoa (My origonal plan was to use quinoa but when i opened my pantry I saw I did not have enough for this recipe, but had alread set my mind o making it....) I added mango, dried cranberries, scallions, diced celery, dried coconut and 3 tbsp. olive oil, 3 tbsp. of lime juice, salt & pepper and curry powder - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I recently read about the amazing nutritional value of quinoa (it's a complete protein by itself and has iron too - essential for vegetarians!) in a local paper. I've been a vegetarian for almost 25 years and couldn't beleive I'd never heard of this incredible grain. This was the first recipe I tried and it was a hit! I was a little nervous because I couldn't remember if my husband liked curry (you'd think I'd know after nearly 18 years!) and I know he's not crazy about mangos. He loved it! He says it's a great way for me to get him to eat mangos! I love that you can eat it cold so it's a great make ahead dish The only change I made the first time was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken. The second time I only used 1 tsp. curry because it was a little strong for me (though my husband liked it fine with 1 1/2). My 3 and 5 year-olds did not like it, which isn't surprising. They're in a "don't want to eat new things stage" right now. If you're wanting to try Quinoa and like curry you should defnitely make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States