Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I really liked this and it was liked by my guests but I thought it was salty and not curry enough so next time I make it I will reduce the salt by at least half and add about half again as much curry. I also doubled the recipe. As far as being able to put anything in it...well you can. It reminds me of tabouli that way but depending on what you put in it it might need a different name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved the base recipe!!! I did add celery and pine nuts with the mango and onions at the end. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Very tasty side dish, although I changed it a quite a bit. First I sauteed 1/4 an onion and 1/4 a red bell pepper, before adding a garlic clove and the quinoa. I omitted the salt altogether. Also, I added a handful of raisins along with mango. Finally, I tossed in cilantro in place of the green onions. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Absolutely loved it! Even my finicky m-I-l loved it. I read thru some of the comments & threw in some basil - yum! Next time I'm going to chop up some almonds or pecans and maybe try some other types of curry. This dish will become a frequent visitor to our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis A Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Made this as a side dish for marinated steaks tonight and it was delicious! I used low sodium organic chicken broth (70 grams v. 570 grams sodium) and I think that helped cure the saltiness issue mentioned in previous reviews. My husband took a second helping!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was delicious and a nice change for a lunch, especially in the hot weather. Made as directed but did top with toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I added Chicken to mine. I cooked the chicken with a little bit of extra Curry, and roasted Garlic. I also added about 1/4 cup of Cilantro. Boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this for one of my fast days on the 5:2 diet as it's fairly high protein and low fat. I didn't have a mango so I used half a can of pineapple chunks in juice. The sweetness worked well but it needed some more kick so I added some chili flakes. I would definitely make this again and will experiment with adding different veg such as sweetcorn and peas and will buy a mango next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
SO salty. Going to make it again minus the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Just lovely! Especially if you decrease the salt. My chicken broth had salt in already...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States