Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
A truly delicious soup! I omitted the sugar from this recipe and still found it nicely sweet (thanks to the apples). Since you can always add sugar, but can't subtract it, I'd recommend not adding it until the end - if you need it. I made my soup with a small fresh pumpkin that I cubed and simmered until soft (25-30 mins.) I potato mashed the whole thing before transfering in batches to my blender. I found the curry flavour and intensity very mild, but I also like very hot foods, so perhaps some may find this spicy. Instead of sour cream I swirled a bit of low fat yoghurt and grated a pinch of nutmeg on top - pretty and delicious. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I really enjoyed this soup. I did add about 1/8 cup of brown sugar and omitted the white sugar and water. I like my pumpkin soups sweet and thick. I also added a shake of crushed red pepper flakes and a dollop of sour cream to my bowl. This is a very quick and tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Excellent recipe! It's sweet & a little spicy, very unusual flavors. The only change I made was to add mushrooms shortly before serving - an idea from a local restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This soup is fantastic! But watch out - it definitely has a kick to it! The combination of cumin and curry along with pumpkin is absolutely divine. Definitely a good fall soup. I thought the apples would stand out more, but I hardly tasted them - they just pureed well to make a wonderful thickness. I would have thought there was cream in this soup, but it's very low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Made it exactly as recipe - soooo excellent. Even for my husband who doesn't like any soups, he will enjoy again tomorrow. Thought spices and quantities just right. Served with easy Wheat and Barley quick bread that was also outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Delicious! I used what I had on hand. I sustituted 2 T grade b pure maple syrup for the sugar, subbed 2 granny smith apples for the 4 macs, & omitted the water. It is spicy, but not too much for me, as I love spicy food. This is exactly the taste I was looking for when I looked up pumpkin soup! I will definitely be making this one again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
The perfect soup for a cold autumn day! Also would be great as a first course for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is a keeper. It does have a kick though -- so unless you like spicy foods, don't omit the sugar. Since my husband likes spicy foods and I am a wimp, I add a larger swirl of sour cream to my bowl and it calms down the curry enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I made this last year for thanksgiving and I am already getting requests to make it again..its only Oct. I served it without the sour cream since I am lactose intolerant, and the table begged for more. I love the addition of the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
AWESOME! I made a double recipe last weekend, and had to hide the leftovers from my wife so I could have some! I substituted vegetable stock (NOT BROTH) for the chicken broth and addes 1 t. kosher salt. Per some of the other reviews I didn't add the 1 c. water and wound up with a nice thick mildly spicy soup. Excellent with some homemade yoghurt swirled on the top and a nice crusty loaf bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Meuzelaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States