Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Fairly easy to make. I had three apples and used the rest of a container of apple sauce. I felt like it was missing something. I added a few TBS of Worcestershire and reduced sodium soy sauce. It DEFINATELY gave it the smoky flavor I was hoping for. Served with cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
The sour cream brings it from good to great. If you like curry I recommend doubling the curry. Serve with naan or papadum . It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
i found using macintosh made it a bit too sweet for my taste. i tasted a lot of curry and sweetness, and not enough pumpkin, even though i added more pumpkin puree than called for. still a decent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I've made this soup a couple of times now and it's always good. Most people can't quite identify the apple which really picks the flavor up. Another variation for warmer weather is to blend it well in the blender, adding a good shot of orange juice in place of some of the water and served chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biarritz, Aquitaine, France
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I like the simple taste of this soup. It doesn't take forever to make, either. I too left the sugar out. I also made a mistake and put in pumpkin pie ready made puree, instead of just pumpkin puree- it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
was really disappointed with thie soup. it tasted like hot, bland apple sauce to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Got to say no on this one It's not you it's me, I swear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICEK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Wow! This soup is fantastic! I used fresh pumpkin puree, doubled the recipe, substituded a few granny smith apples for a few mcintosh, and left the water out. This soup is low in calories and high in nutrition and flavor. I love curry, so the more the better. However, if your not crazy about curry you might cut the amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This soup is gorgeous! I use fresh pumpkin instead of canned but stick to the receipe everywhere else and it gets rave reviews from everyone I serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Wow, this tastes amazing! I did add cinnamon and left out the water. I also doubled it so I could use the XL can of pumkin I had. Looking for pumpkin soups, I first tried the Bachelors Pumpkin soup. Of course it was a different taste than this recipe, but it was terrible. Hubby said it smelled like pie, but tasted just bad. This Curried Pumpkin soup is one we will be saving forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States