Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This soup got mixed reviews...It kind of grew on me, but my husband and 5-year old really didn't like it at all. I ended up adding brown sugar to the final puree because the curry was quite strong. Perhaps if I only added 1/2 tablespoon of curry, it would have been better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Our family really enjoyed this recipe. The apple made it taste a little tart which was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I made this last year for thanksgiving and I am already getting requests to make it again..its only Oct. I served it without the sour cream since I am lactose intolerant, and the table begged for more. I love the addition of the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I followed one of the reviewers suggestions and intended serving this soup as a first course for Thanksgiving dinner. I spent money and time making this recipe but found it inedible - very seriously. I would not wish this soup on my Mother-in-law and was forced to make another first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
A truly delicious soup! I omitted the sugar from this recipe and still found it nicely sweet (thanks to the apples). Since you can always add sugar, but can't subtract it, I'd recommend not adding it until the end - if you need it. I made my soup with a small fresh pumpkin that I cubed and simmered until soft (25-30 mins.) I potato mashed the whole thing before transfering in batches to my blender. I found the curry flavour and intensity very mild, but I also like very hot foods, so perhaps some may find this spicy. Instead of sour cream I swirled a bit of low fat yoghurt and grated a pinch of nutmeg on top - pretty and delicious. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is a keeper. It does have a kick though -- so unless you like spicy foods, don't omit the sugar. Since my husband likes spicy foods and I am a wimp, I add a larger swirl of sour cream to my bowl and it calms down the curry enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is quite tasty and I'm impressed by the low calories and fat. I was expecting it to be a bit creamier though, texture-wise. I'm not sure if it's because I didn't puree it long enough, or if that's just the way it is. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This soup is fantastic! But watch out - it definitely has a kick to it! The combination of cumin and curry along with pumpkin is absolutely divine. Definitely a good fall soup. I thought the apples would stand out more, but I hardly tasted them - they just pureed well to make a wonderful thickness. I would have thought there was cream in this soup, but it's very low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
The perfect soup for a cold autumn day! Also would be great as a first course for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This is a very satisfying soup, tasty and attractive, too. i love pumpkin and this soup does not disappoint. It is just sweet and thick enough to be a satisfying winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States