Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I served this at a bunko meeting. Either you like it or you don't! I followed the recipe as written. I would have added more sugar and less curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This soup was great! I added a tsp. of tabasco and substituted 1 cup of heavy cream in for one of the cups of chicken broth to make sure it was creamy enough. I also added a little more sugar and a little bit of cinnamon. The soup ended up having great flavor and tasted even better each time it was reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
There was something missing from the soup, I just could put my finger on it. You really could not taste the pumpkin and there was way to much currie in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahSmile
Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is my husbands favorite! The curry can tend to take over though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This has become a staple for me; my flatmate is rather fussy when it comes to food, and we both just love the slightly spicy flavour this soup affords. I make my own pumpkin puree instead of using canned, substitute vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and I omit the extra cup of water as seems to be common. Sometimes I add a little cinnamon, too. Very good for a different and low-calorie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Delicious!! I added extra curry, and topped with sour cream and cilantro....This soup rawks harder than Molly Hatchet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This soup was pretty easy to make and turned out perfectly. However, I would only recommend this soup to those that really enjoy the taste of pumpkin. I personally wasn't crazy about the flavor, but others seemed to like it. It's very unusual, with the cumin and the curry. It's worth a try if you want a soup definitely off the beaten path - clearly a lot of people do like it, but not all will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Very yummy! I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
a little spicy. Great with Sour Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
i followed this to a T and found it excellent.. for a low fat, low calorie and generally healthy soup its tasty and different (plus you would never know) my boyfriend said it tasted 'healthy' but really liked the flavours..maybe add more curry powder to it though... i used the powder to make chicken broth but might use canned broth next time and more pumpkin the 4 apples were small but still found it nice... i would definetely add cinnamon and nutmeg next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Hobson
Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States