Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Loved it! This recipe is different than any soup recipe I've ever made. I like to try new things and was curious how a pumpkin soup would taste. Mine wasn't too sweet as some people thought. I was trying to use up apples leftover from apple picking, and since I believe McIntosh apples are a bit tart and pretty small, I used some smallish winesaps that are semi-tart. Some reviewers thought it needs cream, but that is what the dollop of sour cream/yogurt (at serving time) is supposed to accomplish. Instead of doing that, I opted for adding 3/4 cup of cream to the recipe which I added near the end of the cooking time. Oh, I didn't go through the trouble of putting the soup in the food processor - I used my immersion blender and it worked out fine. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I should have listened to the few bad reviews on this because I too spent quite a bit of time preparing an absolutely inedible soup. So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I agree with the people that say there is something missing. I love the curry and the apple. I think maybe it would be better with a cream base, rather than a broth base? I'm not really sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Polson, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a good starter recipe but I had to add more sugar. I used 3 tsp brown sugar, added a touch of sweet potato, carrot and butternut squash puree (which I had on hand) and it was delicious. I thought it was a bit bland just as is. It needed more sugar in my opinion to bring out all the wonderful flavors. I had a soup just like this Whole Foods and fell in love with it and just had to try to duplicate the recipe. This was pretty close! I will make this again with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
A nice soup for a crisp autumn day; however, I found that, even with the four McIntosh apples, it still seemed rather bland. I added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of heavy cream and a pinch of nutmeg and it developed the flavor I was looking for. It's nice topped with roasted pumpkin seeds instead of croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Wesserling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
With a few modifications suggested by other users, this soup turned out FANTASTIC! Instead of canned pumpkin I used the flesh of 2 large roasted acorn squash that I've had as a centerpiece on my table since Thanksgiving. Totally worked. I doubled the curry powder and omitted the sugar. Topped with plain yogurt this stuff is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
An okay recipe. Was not completely thrilled. I was aiming for something like what I had sampled in a Thai restaurant, but this missed the mark a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Pretty good. Per one suggestion, I did not add the sugar and used different apples due to what I had on hand. Not very likely to make again simply becuase my dh does not like pureed soups. But, even still he liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Delicious! I omitted the butter and only used 2 apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very good soup! High in flavor! I took some reviewers' advice and substituted the 4 macintosh apples for 3 granny smiths and 1 large carrot. I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth (I am a vegetarian), I omitted the 1 cup of water (I was afraid it would water it down too much), and I omitted the sugar (it doesn't really need any more sweetness beyond that which the apples provide). I served it with a dollop of light sour cream, which really made this perfect. A very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Bergquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States