Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I love curry dishes and I love pumpkin soup, but this is definitely not my favorite recipe. It was too apple-y and there was too much curry and not enough additional ingredients to unify it. it was weird because you could taste the individual ingredients. This is not something I will be making again. If you're looking to punch up a pumpkin soup, follow a traditional recipe and add a carrot and some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Delicious! I used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce and 2 apples and increased the amount of curry and cumin by 1/2 a tsp. each. I also cut the amount of onion in half, but I still thought the onion taste was a bit to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Loved it! This recipe is different than any soup recipe I've ever made. I like to try new things and was curious how a pumpkin soup would taste. Mine wasn't too sweet as some people thought. I was trying to use up apples leftover from apple picking, and since I believe McIntosh apples are a bit tart and pretty small, I used some smallish winesaps that are semi-tart. Some reviewers thought it needs cream, but that is what the dollop of sour cream/yogurt (at serving time) is supposed to accomplish. Instead of doing that, I opted for adding 3/4 cup of cream to the recipe which I added near the end of the cooking time. Oh, I didn't go through the trouble of putting the soup in the food processor - I used my immersion blender and it worked out fine. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I should have listened to the few bad reviews on this because I too spent quite a bit of time preparing an absolutely inedible soup. So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I agree with the people that say there is something missing. I love the curry and the apple. I think maybe it would be better with a cream base, rather than a broth base? I'm not really sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Polson, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a good starter recipe but I had to add more sugar. I used 3 tsp brown sugar, added a touch of sweet potato, carrot and butternut squash puree (which I had on hand) and it was delicious. I thought it was a bit bland just as is. It needed more sugar in my opinion to bring out all the wonderful flavors. I had a soup just like this Whole Foods and fell in love with it and just had to try to duplicate the recipe. This was pretty close! I will make this again with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
A nice soup for a crisp autumn day; however, I found that, even with the four McIntosh apples, it still seemed rather bland. I added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of heavy cream and a pinch of nutmeg and it developed the flavor I was looking for. It's nice topped with roasted pumpkin seeds instead of croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Wesserling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
With a few modifications suggested by other users, this soup turned out FANTASTIC! Instead of canned pumpkin I used the flesh of 2 large roasted acorn squash that I've had as a centerpiece on my table since Thanksgiving. Totally worked. I doubled the curry powder and omitted the sugar. Topped with plain yogurt this stuff is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
An okay recipe. Was not completely thrilled. I was aiming for something like what I had sampled in a Thai restaurant, but this missed the mark a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Pretty good. Per one suggestion, I did not add the sugar and used different apples due to what I had on hand. Not very likely to make again simply becuase my dh does not like pureed soups. But, even still he liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States