Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is one of the tastiest soups I've had! I followed the recipe as posted, and found it to be thick and wonderful. I will be making this a regular. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
***Ummmm, this soup is pretty good, but nothing that feels like comfort food, which was what I was searching for. I didn't add sugar, but I feel this soup is too apple-y (sweet) and not pumpkin-y enough. I agree with another reviewer that there is just something missing! It's too mushy. Since Macintosh apples are already soft, I'd reccomend just pulsing it quickly in the blender rather tham emulifying it. This way, there will be a few chunks of apple left. Made as per instructionsand it's too much like baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great start... For great flavorful soup shake it up a bit. Fresh pumpkin takes time but is always worth the effort. I used 2cups Pumpkin, 3 Apples, Yellow Curry, extra dash of Cumin, hint of Gram Marsala, and a sprinkle of red pepper. Spice keeps you young.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
May have added more pumpkin since we only had a 28oz can. Great taste, and tasted even better when reheating for lunch the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Mmmmmm! This is the best soup I've made in a long time. I only made a few small adjustments. I used Fuji apples, and since they were organic, I didn't peel them, thereby adding (or not removing!) extra fibre from the soup. I also used my own fresh pureed pumpkin, and substituted 4 cups water + 2 chicken bouillon cubes for the broth. It didn't need the sugar, but I did add a bit of cayenne pepper for a bit of an extra kick. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Really good! I used some fresh baked pumpkin and some pumpkin puree for this recipe. I recommend serving it with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Really good. I grated the apples, cut curry down to 2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon at the end of the cooking. I only put a little of it in the blender and mixed it back in with the rest of the pot. Thanks Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent soup, nice blend of flavors. I left out the extra water and the sugar and didn't blend the soup. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I love curry dishes and I love pumpkin soup, but this is definitely not my favorite recipe. It was too apple-y and there was too much curry and not enough additional ingredients to unify it. it was weird because you could taste the individual ingredients. This is not something I will be making again. If you're looking to punch up a pumpkin soup, follow a traditional recipe and add a carrot and some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Delicious! I used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce and 2 apples and increased the amount of curry and cumin by 1/2 a tsp. each. I also cut the amount of onion in half, but I still thought the onion taste was a bit to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States