Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a good soup but needed a few alterations, in my opinion. I made it as listed (except for the blending) but found it rather bland. I added a clove of garlic, half-teaspoons of curry powder and cinnamon, and 1/8 teaspoons of both coriander and cardamom. For more body, I added three carrots chopped finely and served over a little rice. I also used some red pepper flakes, but it was spiced nicely without it. I plan to make it again, maybe with some sweet potato in the mix, but will almost certainly stick with these changes when I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Love this soup !!! Didn't have cumin so I substituted coriander. When it was time to add pumpkin puree, I only had pumpkin pie mix puree so I tried it. Definitely a winner. Added a generous dollop of sour cream and YUMMMMM. When puree-ing, make sure to do it in very small batches to achieve a thick and smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this in the vitamix (64 oz) on the soup setting - it is amazing - I just put in all the ingredients in left the apples, garlic and onion chunky and put it on the soup setting. Ready and hot in less than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Barrington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This soup has way too much curry for our taste. The curry flavor overpowered all the other good flavors, plus it was pretty hot. The apples add a nice texture and and it was a good use for the extra can of pumpkin left over from Thanksgiving. I definately recommned the sour cream or yogurt added when serving. Also, I would serve this as an appetizer only - not a main course (with only a teaspoon of curry, not a tablespoon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Coming from a non pumpkin eater this is very good but a little too sweet. Substituting Granny Smith apples seems to make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
An easy, yummy soup for fall! I substituted 1/4 cup pure maple syrup for the sugar and it was great. Also added a few shakes of hot sauce to turn up the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was OK..... curry was really the only flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed this as a base recipe. I used fresh pumpkin from my garden and cortland apples because I had them on hand but everything else was to the recipe and it turned out great. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This wqas definitely a little odd, but I liked it. It was a little bit like a cross between applesauce and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
To vegetarian-ize, I omitted broth using water instead and used coconut milk where the recipe calls for water. I would have used vegetable broth, but was out. Still came out pretty good, like a creamy curried pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States