Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I don't see the appeal. I had sweet apples, but I still had to add brown sugar...and I'm not a sweets person. I doubt I'll get my family to eat much. So I'm going to be working on this for the remainder of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I omitted the water for a thicker texture, it does taste exotic but I really love it, including the sweetness of the apple with the curry and everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a good soup but needed a few alterations, in my opinion. I made it as listed (except for the blending) but found it rather bland. I added a clove of garlic, half-teaspoons of curry powder and cinnamon, and 1/8 teaspoons of both coriander and cardamom. For more body, I added three carrots chopped finely and served over a little rice. I also used some red pepper flakes, but it was spiced nicely without it. I plan to make it again, maybe with some sweet potato in the mix, but will almost certainly stick with these changes when I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Love this soup !!! Didn't have cumin so I substituted coriander. When it was time to add pumpkin puree, I only had pumpkin pie mix puree so I tried it. Definitely a winner. Added a generous dollop of sour cream and YUMMMMM. When puree-ing, make sure to do it in very small batches to achieve a thick and smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this in the vitamix (64 oz) on the soup setting - it is amazing - I just put in all the ingredients in left the apples, garlic and onion chunky and put it on the soup setting. Ready and hot in less than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Barrington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This soup has way too much curry for our taste. The curry flavor overpowered all the other good flavors, plus it was pretty hot. The apples add a nice texture and and it was a good use for the extra can of pumpkin left over from Thanksgiving. I definately recommned the sour cream or yogurt added when serving. Also, I would serve this as an appetizer only - not a main course (with only a teaspoon of curry, not a tablespoon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Coming from a non pumpkin eater this is very good but a little too sweet. Substituting Granny Smith apples seems to make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
An easy, yummy soup for fall! I substituted 1/4 cup pure maple syrup for the sugar and it was great. Also added a few shakes of hot sauce to turn up the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was OK..... curry was really the only flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed this as a base recipe. I used fresh pumpkin from my garden and cortland apples because I had them on hand but everything else was to the recipe and it turned out great. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States