Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a good soup but needed a few alterations, in my opinion. I made it as listed (except for the blending) but found it rather bland. I added a clove of garlic, half-teaspoons of curry powder and cinnamon, and 1/8 teaspoons of both coriander and cardamom. For more body, I added three carrots chopped finely and served over a little rice. I also used some red pepper flakes, but it was spiced nicely without it. I plan to make it again, maybe with some sweet potato in the mix, but will almost certainly stick with these changes when I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Love this soup !!! Didn't have cumin so I substituted coriander. When it was time to add pumpkin puree, I only had pumpkin pie mix puree so I tried it. Definitely a winner. Added a generous dollop of sour cream and YUMMMMM. When puree-ing, make sure to do it in very small batches to achieve a thick and smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this in the vitamix (64 oz) on the soup setting - it is amazing - I just put in all the ingredients in left the apples, garlic and onion chunky and put it on the soup setting. Ready and hot in less than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Barrington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This soup has way too much curry for our taste. The curry flavor overpowered all the other good flavors, plus it was pretty hot. The apples add a nice texture and and it was a good use for the extra can of pumpkin left over from Thanksgiving. I definately recommned the sour cream or yogurt added when serving. Also, I would serve this as an appetizer only - not a main course (with only a teaspoon of curry, not a tablespoon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Coming from a non pumpkin eater this is very good but a little too sweet. Substituting Granny Smith apples seems to make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
An easy, yummy soup for fall! I substituted 1/4 cup pure maple syrup for the sugar and it was great. Also added a few shakes of hot sauce to turn up the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was OK..... curry was really the only flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed this as a base recipe. I used fresh pumpkin from my garden and cortland apples because I had them on hand but everything else was to the recipe and it turned out great. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This wqas definitely a little odd, but I liked it. It was a little bit like a cross between applesauce and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
To vegetarian-ize, I omitted broth using water instead and used coconut milk where the recipe calls for water. I would have used vegetable broth, but was out. Still came out pretty good, like a creamy curried pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States