Curried Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I doubled or tripled the spices (didn't really measure). I also added about 1/2 tsp of dried dill. I used a 540ml canned tomatoes and a 398ml can of peas. Once it had simmered for a bit, i thickened it with about a 1/4cup of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I didn't think this turned out right...it was flavorless at first so I doubled the coconut milk and spices and it still wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
For a pound of peas, I would have preferred about double the amount of sauce that these measurements yielded. Though the recipe calls for a pound of pea PODS, which might have yielded a half pound of actual peas... sadly I didn't note that before pouring an entire pound bag of peas in. (yes, I used frozen.) The spice mix smelled fantastic when I started cooking, but it really didn't translate into a good flavor, or at least not as good as it smelled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Great simple dish, and a nice way to use the abundant harvest of fresh peas. I'm sure frozen would work as well. I used double the coconut milk, and still thought I needed a bit more liquid, so added a splash of vegetable broth. Served it over coconut rice (basmati rice cooked in coconut milk and turmeric) and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish, but I took others' advice and added more coconut milk and I also used pure chile pepper powder and added more. I, too, used frozen peas, and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this with frozen peas and it turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Love this recipe. Peas are a big favorite, as are Indian dishes. I used frozen peas and was very careful not to overcook. I like things spicy, so I did add a little more heat, but not so much that I covered the sweetness of the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was okay. Very simple to make, but not nearly as flavourful as I was expecting. I did use about 1 tsp cinnamon since I didn't have a cinnamon stick, and I used frozen peas. I added about 1tbsp curry powder. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was good. I needed to add more coconut milk. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Easy to fix and good taste. I used frozen peas and ended up adding about twice the quantity of coconut milk than suggested in order to get some flavor. Perhaps I should try another brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States